This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Project Loch.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- Midlothian · Chesterfield County · Virginia
- Official metro area
- Richmond, VA
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 27 August 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000722
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Dominion Energy Virginia
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Not established
- Land area
- 340 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 28 August 2025
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- 30-year fixed property-tax-rate agreement (Chesterfield County; dollar value undisclosed under VA law) Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Three on-site substations planned. Dominion Energy (sole regional utility) has filed with the VA SCC to build 230-kV lines to a new Duval Substation (~$121M) to serve western Chesterfield data-center load. Dominion is inferred (service territory), not confirmed in a Loch-specific filing.
Water. Site adjacent to Tomahawk Creek (Chesapeake Bay watershed). Army Corps permit (May 2026) covers ~5 acres of wetlands and 2,828 ft of stream channels; proposed mitigation ~11 acres of replacement wetlands + 34.2 acres preserved.
Community. Rezoning filed by the Chesterfield EDA for a confidential project; Board of Supervisors approved June 6 2025; county called Google the 'Rolls-Royce of data center operators.' No organized opposition documented.
What the source record says
Codename Project Loch; land acquired via shell entity Aeris Investments LLC (~$29M for ~340 acres). Site: 750 Watkins Centre Pkwy (Watkins Centre South), west of Rt 288 and south of Rt 60, near Westchester Commons. Three data-center buildings planned, each with a dedicated on-site substation. Google stated in Aug 2025 it has no near-term plans to develop Loch. Capacity MW not disclosed. Virginia law bars per-company subsidy value disclosure, so the 30-year fixed tax agreement is recorded as a program label with no dollar value. Coordinates are an approximate site centroid (address-derived, not GPS-verified).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-06-06 · source-reported proposed
Chesterfield Board of Supervisors approved rezoning of ~350 acres at 750 Watkins Centre Pkwy (Watkins Centre South) for data-center use; 30-year fixed tax agreement approved
- 2025-08-28 · source-reported proposed
Google publicly confirmed as operator of Project Loch (alongside Projects Peanut and Skye); Google stated Loch and Skye are not in near-term development plans
- 2026-05-14 · source-reported proposed
Army Corps of Engineers (Norfolk District) permit application filed for impacts to ~5 acres of wetlands and 2,828 ft of stream channels near Tomahawk Creek
- 2026-08-27 · source-reported permitted
Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors has approved the local rezoning for Project Loch (Watkins Centre South site); Supervisor Jessica Schneider is quoted confirming she voted to approve Loch. US Army Corps of Engineers Clean Water Act and Virginia Marine Resources Commission permits for wetlands impact remain pending as of 2026-06-22/06-26.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google files for data center campus outside Richmond, Virginia · Data Center Dynamics
- Chesterfield scores a Google trifecta: ties to 3 sites across the county · Richmond BizSense
- In Google, Chesterfield landed the Rolls-Royce of data center operators · Chesterfield County, VA
- Chesterfield County approves two data center developments · Greater Richmond Partnership
- Chesterfield EDA secures zoning approval for two data center projects · Richmond BizSense
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Google's $9B bet on a trio of Chesterfield data center campuses · VPM
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-loch-midlothian-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row is retained from 1.33.0+git-e97215faac76, source as of 2026-09-25T23:45:52.227Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000722
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Midlothian, VA · Chesterfield (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 28 August 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-06-06 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025-08-28 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-05-14 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-08-27 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 340 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Dominion Energy Virginia
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
Provider label: unknown.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: 30-year fixed property-tax-rate agreement (Chesterfield County; dollar value undisclosed under VA law)
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-08-27
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.