This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Lenoir Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- Lenoir · Caldwell County · North Carolina
- Official metro area
- Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton, NC
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 25 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000720
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Duke Energy Carolinas
- Power source
- Solar
- Announced investment
- $1.2 billion
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- 2007
Provider notes
Energy. Google was the first customer of Duke Energy's Green Source Rider program (which Google helped push Duke to create), signing a PPA for a dedicated 61 MW solar farm in Rutherford County, NC built by Rutherford Farms LLC explicitly to meet new energy demand from Google's expanded Lenoir data center.
What the source record says
Google's flagship North Carolina data center in Lenoir, Caldwell County — announced 2007, operational since 2008, one of Google's earliest U.S. sites, expanded since. Per Google's own location page, the initial investment was ~$1.2B, with $4B+ invested in the region and state since. No site-specific IT-load MW is disclosed. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the disclosed Lynhaven Dr address; a county-parcel pass could upgrade precision to exact.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2008 · source-reported operational
Operational since 2008 (announced 2007); ~$1.2B initial investment per Google's own location page.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google Lenoir, North Carolina — official location page: announced 2007, opened 2008, ~$1.2B initial / $4B+ cumulative · Google
- Duke Energy, Google team up on solar power project in N.C.
- Google Partners with Duke Energy to Power Data Center by a 61MW PV Plant
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-lenoir-nc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
Operator’s own listing
What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.
- Name as listed
- Lenoir
- Address as published
- Lenoir, NC
Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000720
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Lenoir, NC · Caldwell (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2007
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2008 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Duke Energy Carolinas
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Solar
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1.2 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-25
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.