Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000716

Google Hermantown Data Center

source-reported proposed

Google

Hermantown · St. Louis County · Minnesota

Capacity not statedSource updated 13 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google Hermantown Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
Hermantown · St. Louis County · Minnesota
Official metro area
Duluth, MN-WI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
13 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000716
Dated source review

The underlying provider record is retained. These notes add source-attributed context and flag conflicts; any withheld value is explained separately. They do not certify current operation.

  • Source review · reviewed 2026-10-09: Google’s official data-center locations index lists “Hermantown, Minnesota.” This provides operator-and-city context only. It does not establish that the location covers this row’s particular project name, parcel, building boundaries, capacity or operating status.

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Minnesota PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
Cooling
AirProvider label.
Reported water use
0.05 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
278 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Google-Minnesota Power electric service agreement calls for 700MW of new clean energy resources (300MW wind + 400MW battery storage) to serve the campus; Google also committed $5M to Minnesota Power's energy-affordability and efficiency programs for low/moderate-income customers.

Water. KAXE reports a waterless/air-cooled system with a maximum of 50,000 gallons daily, used for worker sanitation and emergency fire suppression rather than cooling (50,000 gal/day = 0.05 MGD). A permitted maximum, not a measured draw.

Community. The City Council tabled the tax abatement and land development agreements in May 2026 with no timeline to reconsider, pending completion of a revised Alternative Urban Areawide Review; residents questioned the abatement publicly ("What tax-based projections would allow a tax abatement of $4 million a year for a single company?"). The city submitted its updated AUAR to the Environmental Quality Board in August 2026 and a final council vote on adoption had not occurred as of mid-September 2026.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The note expressly says Google has not published a site investment figure.
  • Announced permanent jobs: The note expressly says Google has not published a site investment figure or timeline; no jobs figure is stated.

What the source record says

Listed by Google among its US data centers under development. Google has not published a dedicated location page, capacity, investment figure, or timeline for this site — it appears only on Google's US locations index, so this record is intentionally thin. Coordinates are the Hermantown city centroid (approximate).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-hermantown-mn. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000716

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Hermantown, MN · St. Louis (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 278 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Minnesota Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 0.05 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-13

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →