This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Zenith Volts Roswell / Chaves County Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Zenith Volts Corp.
- Address and locality
- Roswell · Chaves County · New Mexico
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,240 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 21 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001592
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- Mixed
- Cooling
- Not established
- Land area
- 300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $11.7 billion
- Announced jobs
- 140 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
Provider notes
Energy. Chaves County-approved plan integrates on-site solar, natural gas generators for backup, modular solar-thermal hybrid systems and a 250-acre battery energy storage system across the wider 8,500-acre site. The capacity of each individual power element has not been disclosed.
Water. Plan calls for geothermal cooling; no water-withdrawal figure has been disclosed.
Community. Chaves County Commission approved the special-use permit for the project on August 22, 2025; no organized opposition or dissent is reported across multiple independent news accounts of the approval.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
Approximately 20 miles south of Roswell. Chaves County Commission approved; 300-acre initial footprint within an 8,500-acre approved site. On-site solar, gas, geothermal, and battery storage. Targets November 2027 operational; approximately 140 FTE jobs.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026 · source-reported permitted
Chaves County Commission approved; 300-acre initial footprint within an 8,500-acre approved site; targets November 2027 operational.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Zenith Volts Corp secures county approval for scalable data center 20 miles south of Roswell, NM · PR Newswire
- Zenith obtains planning approval for 1.24GW data center project in Roswell, New Mexico · Data Center Dynamics
- Chaves County (chavescounty.net)
- Pacifico, Zenith Volts and Fermi America propose gigawatt-scale energy solutions with BESS to feed US data centres · Energy-Storage.news
- Chaves County approves data center project amid rising demand for computing infrastructure · Yahoo News
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID zenith-volts-roswell-chaves-county-data-center-nm. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001592
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Roswell, NM · Chaves (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Zenith Volts Corp.
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,240 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: Mixed
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
The provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $11.7 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 140 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-21
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.