Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001547

La Osa Data Center Park

source-reported cancelled

Vermaland LLC

Eloy · Pinal County · Arizona

Capacity not statedSource updated 28 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for La Osa Data Center Park.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Vermaland LLC
Address and locality
Eloy · Pinal County · Arizona
Official metro area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
28 August 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001547

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Western Area Power Administration (WAPA) — proposed grid transmission line upgrades for interconnect. APS and SRP not confirmed as utility providers.Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
3,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Phase 1 would rely on on-site natural gas turbines as primary power source, transitioning to solar as adjacent solar projects come online. Utility-scale battery storage included in original 3 GW plan. Hybrid model: gas + solar + battery + WAPA grid. On-site generation MW not specified in any source.

Water. Developer's attorney stated commitment to air-cooled or closed-loop cooling to minimize water demand. Site borders the Greene Canal, raising concerns about water access and consumption in an arid region. No MGD figures have been published. Critics cited Pima County's 'Project Blue' hyperscale data center as a cautionary precedent for water misuse in Arizona desert developments.

Community. All approximately 60 public comments and 50 emails received by the Pinal County Board opposed the project. Concerns raised: location in a high-risk flood zone, wildlife and environmental impacts, water use risk, power bill impacts for local residents, construction timeline (gas plant likely last, 5-7 year timeline). Scale-back from 3 GW to 1 GW was a direct response to this opposition. Pinal County Supervisor Rich Vitiello expressed concern about constituent energy cost impacts.

What the source record says

Vermaland LLC is a Phoenix-area land developer and land-banking company (CEO Kuldip 'Ken' Verma, founded 2006, controls ~25,000 acres of metro Phoenix land). DCD explicitly noted 'it is unclear whether Vermaland would operate its own data center facilities' — Vermaland plans to sell or rent parcels/buildings to tenants. No end tenants or hyperscaler operators have been named as of July 2026. Original plan: 59 data centers, up to 3 GW capacity ceiling, up to $33B investment ceiling, 3,300-acre site south of Eloy along the Greene Canal. A separate adjacent 1,700-acre parcel already holds Industrial-2 zoning for data centers, gas plants, battery storage, and solar. After strong public opposition (all ~60 public comments opposed), operator announced May 2026 scale-back to 11 data centers and 1 GW ceiling. Board of Supervisors hearing scheduled August 26, 2026; no permits issued as of record date. Site lies adjacent to a Qualified Opportunity Zone (investor tax benefit; not a direct subsidy to Vermaland — no subsidy award confirmed, omitted). Coordinates are approximate (parcel south of Eloy city center along Greene Canal; no precise APN published). $33B investment and all GW figures are announced ceilings, not firm commitments.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Vermaland publicly announces La Osa Project (DCD: Aug 4, 2025; AZ Big Media: Sep 15, 2025); rezoning application filed with Pinal County ~April 2025. $33B/3 GW ceiling figures publicized. Pinal County Planning & Zoning Commission holds non-voting informational session July 17, 2025.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026 · source-reported proposed

    April 17, 2026: Pinal County land-use committee recommends advancing to full rezoning and site-plan review. No construction authorization granted; comprehensive plan amendment, drainage, flood mitigation, and road improvements still required.

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026 · source-reported proposed

    May 2026: Operator announces 80% scale-back after all ~60 public comments opposed the project — revised plan reduces to 11 data centers and a 1 GW energy demand ceiling (down from 59 DCs / 3 GW). Board of Supervisors hearing rescheduled to August 26, 2026.

    Open cited source →

  4. 2026-08-28 · source-reported cancelled

    The Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 on August 26, 2026 to reject the La Osa Energy Center rezoning request and development plans, after the developer had already scaled the proposal back roughly 80% (from 59 data center buildings and 3 GW of demand to 11 buildings, a 500 MW gas plant, battery storage and a 1 GW cap) in response to opposition over aquifer drawdown and incomplete energy sourcing plans. Supervisor Stephen Miller cast the lone dissent. Recorded as cancelled because the entitlement the project required was denied; Vermaland has not publicly announced a withdrawal or a refiling, so this reflects the county's denial rather than a developer decision.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID vermaland-la-osa-eloy-az. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001547

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Eloy, AZ · Pinal (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Vermaland LLC

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-08-28 · source-reported cancelled

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 3,300 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Western Area Power Administration (WAPA) — proposed grid transmission line upgrades for interconnect. APS and SRP not confirmed as utility providers.

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-28

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →