This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Social Circle Technology Park.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- TPA Group (developer; end tenant undisclosed)
- Address and locality
- Social Circle · Newton County · Georgia
- Official metro area
- Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 6 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001483
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Georgia Power
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Not established
- Land area
- 317 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $5 billion
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- January 2025
Provider notes
Energy. Georgia Power committed to serve the site via an on-site substation (June 2025); power demand not disclosed.
Water. Project representatives were in discussions with the Newton County Water & Sewerage Authority (June 2025), which states it has capacity; no volume or cooling type disclosed.
Community. Social Circle City Council unanimously approved a special-use permit for SC Infrastructure LLC (June 2025). A jurisdictional dispute exists — Newton County does not recognize the 2008 annexation of the site into Social Circle. Newton County enacted a 30-day moratorium on new data-center applications (April 2026); Social Circle and Covington enacted their own moratoriums. The project is "projected eventually to employ 200 people" (developer — a projection). No lawsuit against this specific project.
What the source record says
Nine buildings, 2.56 million sq ft near I-20/SR-11 intersection. Construction planned to begin 2028; first phase operational target 2031. Formerly filed as Newton County Technology Park; renamed after jurisdictional ambiguity surfaced. Coordinates corrected to Social Circle city centroid (33.6562°N, 83.7182°W); original record had 33.5912°N which is approximately 4.5 miles south of the actual city center per multiple geocoding sources.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-01 · source-reported proposed
TPA Group filed Development of Regional Impact application with Georgia Department of Community Affairs for nine-building campus near I-20 and SR-11
- 2025-04 · source-reported proposed
Social Circle Planning Commission recommended approval 3-2 for rezoning from agricultural to light industrial; jurisdictional dispute with Newton County ongoing
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- TPA Group Plans Massive Newton County Data Center Complex · Bisnow
- Another 2.5 million sq ft data center campus proposed outside Atlanta, Georgia · Data Center Dynamics
- Social Circle officials clear way for second data center · Monroe Local News
- Newton County enacts moratoriums on data centers · The Covington News
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tpa-social-circle-technology-park-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001483
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Social Circle, GA · Newton (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: TPA Group (developer; end tenant undisclosed)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: January 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-01 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025-04 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 317 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Georgia Power
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
Provider label: unknown.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $5 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-06
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.