This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for STAR Campus Data Center & Cogeneration Plant (The Data Centers, LLC).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- The Data Centers, LLC
- Address and locality
- Newark · New Castle County · Delaware
- Official metro area
- Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 1 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001448
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- On-site gas
- On-site generation
- 279 MW (source-reported)
- Announced jobs
- 290 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
Provider notes
Energy. Proposed 279 MW natural-gas cogeneration (CHP) plant to power the data center on-site. UD's review found this would have been at least twice the size of any other known on-site generation facility at a US data center. Never built.
Community. A UD faculty/administrator review group and Newark-area residents raised sustained concerns on environmental-impact and campus-mission grounds; UD's review concluded the 279 MW plant was unprecedented in scale for a US data center, could not be environmentally assessed absent a comparable precedent, and that TDC had shifted emphasis toward wholesale power sales rather than the university's science/tech mission. UD terminated the lease as a result.
What the source record says
Proposed circa 2013 by The Data Centers, LLC (TDC): up to 900,000 sq ft of data center space plus the 279 MW cogeneration plant noted above, on the University of Delaware's 271-acre STAR Campus (former Chrysler Newark Assembly Plant site). Sources disagree on the headline investment figure — Data Center Knowledge reported 'approximately $1 billion' while Technical.ly reported 'more than $1.8 billion' for the combined data-center-and-power-plant project; both are recorded here rather than resolving to one number, so investmentUsd is left unset. Coordinates are the 'STAR Campus' OSM way centroid (approximate) — the specific parcel within the 271-acre campus where this project would have sited was not stated in any source reviewed, and the project was never built.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2014-07 · source-reported cancelled
University of Delaware terminated its lease agreement with The Data Centers, LLC (TDC) on 2014-07-10.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- UD terminates Data Centers project for STAR Campus · University of Delaware (UDaily)
- University of Delaware Puts Nail in Coffin of Data Center and Power Plant Project · Data Center Knowledge
- UD's STAR Campus passed on $1.8B data center project: what to know · Technical.ly
- STAR Campus (OpenStreetMap way) · OpenStreetMap contributors
- More details offered on proposed data center-power plant project (900,000 sq ft; 'The site would employ 290') · Delaware Business Now
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID the-data-centers-star-campus-newark-de. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001448
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Newark, DE · New Castle (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: The Data Centers, LLC
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2014-07 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 279 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 290 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-01
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.