Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001317

White Clay Corporate Center Data Center Redevelopment

source-reported proposed

Shelbourne

White Clay Center Drive · Newark · New Castle County · Delaware

Capacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for White Clay Corporate Center Data Center Redevelopment.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Shelbourne
Address and locality
White Clay Center Drive · Newark · New Castle County · Delaware
Official metro area
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001317

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
44 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. A county councilman publicly brokered a pause after community/political pressure, but the arrangement is a non-binding handshake conditioned on a zoning workaround; the councilman acknowledged its fragility ('If I'm not there, there's no promises'). The developer (Shelbourne) and its attorney did not respond to press requests for comment.

What the source record says

Reported square footage differs across filings/coverage as plans evolved: 676,000 sq ft (Spotlight Delaware, plans filed early Dec 2025) vs. 847,000 sq ft (Newark Post, later filing) — both recorded here rather than resolved to one figure. Capacity in MW is explicitly 'undetermined' per Delmarva Power's internal project list obtained via FOIA and reported by Technical.ly (sourceIndex 3), so capacityMw is left unset. Location precision is approximate: this pin is Newark, DE's city centroid (OSM); the specific parcel on White Clay Center Drive (near the Ogletown Road/Del. 273 and CarMax intersection) did not resolve via US Census or OSM Nominatim geocoding — tried the bare street name, a structured street+city+state query, and the 'CarMax Newark DE' landmark; all returned no match.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-12 · source-reported proposed

    Exploratory plans filed with New Castle County in early December 2025 to redevelop White Clay Center Drive industrial buildings (including former JPMorganChase offices) into a 676,000 sq ft complex; a later filing described an 847,000 sq ft data center complex on the 44-acre site, demolishing seven existing buildings for three light-industrial buildings plus a guard shack.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    Non-binding pause negotiated by New Castle County Councilman Tim Sheldon with developer's attorney Shawn Tucker (email dated 2026-06-10), contingent on the county approving an exploratory-plan application that would grandfather the site under pre-2026 zoning and exempt it from the county's new data-center ordinance. Developer retains the legal right to build a data center on the property.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID shelbourne-white-clay-newark-de. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001317

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • White Clay Center Drive, Newark, DE · New Castle (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Shelbourne

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2025-12 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 44 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →