Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001437

TenKey LandCo Project Lionsgate – Franklin Data Center

source-reported proposed

TenKey LandCo I LLC

Franklin · Simpson County · Kentucky

Capacity not statedSource updated 24 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for TenKey LandCo Project Lionsgate – Franklin Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
TenKey LandCo I LLC
Address and locality
Franklin · Simpson County · Kentucky
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
24 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001437

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Warren Rural Electric Co-op CorpUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$4.8 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
150 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Community. Two active lawsuits: (1) TenKey LandCo sues Simpson County in Simpson Circuit Court challenging a December 2025 county ordinance requiring conditional-use permits for data centers, arguing county lacks zoning authority inside Franklin city limits; (2) Franklin Citizens for Responsible Development sues the Franklin P&Z Commission alleging it lacked authority to approve the preliminary plan, which passed 3-2 in March 2026. Prior unanimous rejections by Franklin city council and planning commission. End user never publicly disclosed; developer refused to reveal it without NDAs.

What the source record says

Site: 421 Steele Road (Steele Road near Exit 2 on I-65), Franklin, Simpson County, KY. Coordinates are approximate for that I-65 exit area within Franklin city limits. Three 200,000 sq ft buildings plus on-site natural gas power generation planned. End hyperscaler not publicly identified; Simpson County Judge-Executive Mason Barnes refused to sign NDA and called the pitch full of red flags. Data center opposition became a factor in May 2026 local primary elections in Simpson County. Fix: investmentUsd corrected from $1.6B to $4.8B — LPM confirms total project is 'nearly $5 billion'; the $1.6B figure in the original record is the per-building cost (each of three 200,000 sq ft facilities costs approximately $1.6B, totaling ~$4.8B).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024 · source-reported proposed

    TenKey LandCo first approaches Franklin; city council and planning commission vote unanimously to reject proposed zoning change; project internally called Project Lionsgate/Blackjack

  2. 2026-03 · source-reported proposed

    Franklin Planning & Zoning Commission approves preliminary development plan 3-2 after two prior defeats

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-04 · source-reported proposed

    Citizens group files suit to overturn P&Z approval; TenKey's own lawsuit against Simpson County over land use ordinance ongoing

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tenkey-franklin-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001437

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Franklin, KY · Simpson (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: TenKey LandCo I LLC

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2024 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-03 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Warren Rural Electric Co-op Corp

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $4.8 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 150 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-24

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →