Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001422

TAC Data Centers Wythe County Campus

source-reported proposed

TAC Data Centers (The Ardent Companies)

Wythe County · Virginia

Reported planned 1,000 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for TAC Data Centers Wythe County Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
TAC Data Centers (The Ardent Companies)
Address and locality
Wythe County · Virginia
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001422

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Appalachian PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
1,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
4 June 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Water. Developer states the campus will use 'a small fraction of the water consumed by older data center facilities', with cooling 'specifically engineered to limit demand on local water resources'. No measured figure published.

Community. Wythe County Administrator Stephen Bear welcomed the TAC project for its tax-revenue benefit; TAC's general counsel framed the campus as designed to minimize traffic/visual/noise/water impact. Wythe County has no zoning ordinance, so TAC needs only building and state environmental permits (no rezoning hearing). …

What the source record says

Nine to eleven buildings totalling 3.5–4 million sq ft on roughly 1,000 acres owned by the Rogg Partnership, just southeast of I-81 about 10 miles east of Wytheville near the Pulaski County line. Distinct from the already-tracked Solis Arx Progress Park campus, which is a 99-acre lot inside Wythe County's Progress Park under a different developer and landowner. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the described area, not a parcel-confirmed point.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06-04 · source-reported proposed

    Announced. Because Wythe County has no zoning ordinance, the project does not require rezoning approval, but will need local building permits and state environmental permits.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tac-data-centers-wythe-county-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001422

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • VA · Wythe (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: TAC Data Centers (The Ardent Companies)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 4 June 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-06-04 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Appalachian Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →