This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Swarm Systems Marshalltown Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Swarm Systems
- Address and locality
- Marshalltown · Marshall County · Iowa
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 16 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001389
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 21 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $345 million
- Announced jobs
- 50 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- Announced
- 26 August 2026
Provider notes
Energy. Developer told the council there would be no on-site power generation; the facility would tie into the electrical grid.
Water. Developer stated annual water use under 500,000 gallons using a closed-loop recirculation system on roughly a 10-year cycle.
Community. Marshalltown City Council adopted a 120-day data center moratorium (expires Nov. 23, 2026, extendable 60 days) while drafting land-use rules; a public petition opposing data centers in Marshalltown is circulating. The developer said it supports the moratorium and is requesting no tax incentives.
What the source record says
Building size is reported inconsistently: the Times Republican account of the Aug. 26, 2026 council presentation says 125,000 sq ft, while Business Record reports 150,000 sq ft. Jobs were described as a 50-60 permanent range; the lower bound is recorded. No MW capacity was stated. Coordinates are approximate — the point sits at the JBS Marshalltown industrial site, next to which the Edgewood Industrial Park city-owned parcels lie; no specific parcel has been identified publicly.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-08-26 · source-reported proposed
Swarm Systems CEO Amir Atefi presented to the Marshalltown City Council seeking a purchase contract for 21 acres of city-owned land in the Edgewood Industrial Park to conduct due diligence; the council passed a 120-day data center moratorium the same night.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- City council passes second and third readings of data center moratorium, hears from prospective developer · Times Republican
- Iowa communities grapple with regulating data centers as development spreads · Business Record
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID swarm-systems-marshalltown-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001389
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Marshalltown, IA · Marshall County (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Swarm Systems
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 26 August 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-08-26 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 21 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $345 million
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 50 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-16
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.