This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Stargate Milam County Campus.
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- OpenAI / SoftBank (SB Energy)
- Address and locality
- Milam County · Texas
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 6 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001364
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- ERCOT
- Power source
- Solar
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 595 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $470 million
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 23 September 2025
Provider notes
Energy. SB Energy (SoftBank) is to fund and build new on-site solar generation and storage to supply the majority of the campus's power, adjacent to its operational Orion Solar Belt (900+ MW) in Milam County; no on-site gas is confirmed for this site. SoftBank and OpenAI are each investing $500M in SB Energy. Planned campus capacity is 1.2 GW.
Water. SB Energy states the facility uses a closed-loop water-cooling system 'designed to minimize water usage'; no permitted volume (MGD) is disclosed.
Community. The site is the former Alcoa Sandow aluminum smelter (which shed ~2,000 jobs when it closed around 2008), and county officials welcome the tax base while acknowledging the campus will provide few long-term jobs. Milam County approved a reinvestment zone but said it would not consider a tax-abatement package until a tenant is signed. First-phase construction cost is put at ~$470M in a state permit filing; a larger multi-billion full-campus figure has been reported.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-09-23 · source-reported proposed
One of five new Stargate sites announced; SB Energy providing powered infrastructure on 595-acre site ~70 miles NE of Austin
- 2025 · source-reported under construction
Steel framing and roofing visible in satellite imagery; first building delivery targeted October 2025
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- OpenAI Stargate: where the US sites stand — Epoch AI · Epoch AI
- OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites — OpenAI · OpenAI
- SB Energy to build and operate OpenAI's 1.2GW Stargate data center in Milam County, Texas — Data Center Dynamics · Data Center Dynamics
- OpenAI Stargate's Milam 'Freebird' data center to span 548,950 sq ft in first phase ($470M) — Data Center Dynamics · Data Center Dynamics
- SoftBank's SB Energy plans $3 billion Texas data center — The Real Deal · The Real Deal
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID stargate-milam-county-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001364
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- TX · Milam (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: OpenAI / SoftBank (SB Energy)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 23 September 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-09-23 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 595 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: ERCOT
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Solar
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $470 million
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-06
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.