Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001360

Stak Energy North Slope Data Center

source-reported proposed

Stak Energy

North Slope County · Alaska

Reported planned 3,000 MWSource updated 28 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Stak Energy North Slope Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Stak Energy
Address and locality
North Slope County · Alaska
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 3,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
28 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001360

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Tdx North Slope Generating CoUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
On-site gasProvider label.
On-site generation
3,000 MW (source-reported)On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling
AirProvider label.
Land area
715 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$500 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
60 permanent · 1,500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
May 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. New pipeline to carry North Slope natural gas to on-site power plant. Self-contained, not connected to Alaska's statewide electrical grid.

Water. Arctic air cooling reduces water consumption by 90%+ compared to industry norms per company. Sub-freezing average temperatures enable free air cooling.

Community. No confirmed customers or investors as of May 2026. Turbine sourcing delays (industry backlog up to 7 years) cited as major risk. Alaska-native leadership including former state DNR commissioner John Boyle. Indigenous opposition reported.

What the source record says

Preliminary state land lease approval covers 715.4 acres (corrected from 640; one square mile = 640 acres exactly but the approved lease footprint is 715.4 acres per Alaska Beacon). Campus is approximately 26 miles south of Deadhorse/Prudhoe Bay off the Dalton Highway (corrected from 25 miles). Supports AI training, cloud computing, and HPC. 3 GW is the project's claimed ultimate potential; $500M is Phase 1 capital. Coordinates estimated (~26 miles south of Prudhoe Bay 70.2N/148.5W); exact site not publicly disclosed.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-05 · source-reported proposed

    Alaska DNR issued preliminary best-interest finding supporting long-term state land lease for 715.4 acres; public review process initiated

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID stak-energy-north-slope-ak. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Independently reviewed match

This exact source identifier is linked to STAK Energy Campus. The licensed row remains a separate discovery record.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001360

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • AK · North Slope (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Stak Energy

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: May 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-05 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 715 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 3,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Tdx North Slope Generating Co

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: On-site gas

    Provider label.

  • On-site generation: 3,000 MW (source-reported)

    On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $500 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 60 permanent · 1,500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-28

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →