Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001139

Carrollton Industrial Campus

source-reported proposed

PowerHouse Data Centers / Poe Companies

Greens Bottom Road · Carrollton · Carroll County · Kentucky

Reported planned 800 MWSource updated 15 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Carrollton Industrial Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
PowerHouse Data Centers / Poe Companies
Address and locality
Greens Bottom Road · Carrollton · Carroll County · Kentucky
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
15 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001139

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Kentucky Utilities CompanyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$9.6 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
320 permanent · 2,100 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Louisville Business First reports an agreement to purchase 800 MW of power from Kentucky Utilities Company for the campus. Of the 550 acres under purchase option south of Carrollton near the Kentucky River, about 300 acres would carry the data center campus, with the balance reserved for landscaping, setbacks and buffers.

Community. Carroll County/Ghent-area residents organized opposition (group 'No Data Center 502') after learning the Carrollton Industrial Campus had reportedly been in development for over a year before its public announcement. Reporting says the Carrollton mayor signed an unrecorded real estate option contract in July 2025 to sell 340 acres of public land for the project. Residents cite lack of transparency: 'There's been no transparency from our local government' (Laura Beth Austin); 'I don't trust the jobs numbers. I don't trust the tax numbers' (Amy Wright). State Sen. …

What the source record says

Developers (Poe Companies and PowerHouse Data Centers, the same partnership behind the existing record powerhouse-louisville-ky) have secured purchase options and completed initial site studies but had not started construction as of the 2026-09-10 source check; 'it's unclear when construction ... will begin.' Data center footprint is reported as roughly 300 of the 500 total acres; 342 acres of the site are owned by Carrollton Utilities, adjacent to its regional wastewater treatment plant. An economic-impact analysis projects about $93.2M in local tax revenue, over $64M of it to Carroll County Public Schools; the developer also received $3.7 million in Kentucky Business Investment (KBI) incentive funding (year not stated in source, so omitted from the subsidies field).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID powerhouse-poe-carrollton-industrial-campus-carroll-county-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001139

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Greens Bottom Road, Carrollton, KY (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: PowerHouse Data Centers / Poe Companies

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Kentucky Utilities Company

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $9.6 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 320 permanent · 2,100 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-15

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →