Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001123

PNNL AI Data Center

source-reported proposed

Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

Richland · Benton County · Washington

Reported planned 2 MWSource updated 12 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for PNNL AI Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
Address and locality
Richland · Benton County · Washington
Official metro area
Kennewick-Richland, WA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 2 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
12 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001123

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Energy. The request for information sought vendor input on on-site power options if utility distribution is limited, containerized or modular structures, power purchase agreements, solar and nuclear supply, and heat reuse for industrial processes.

What the source record says

Battelle, which operates PNNL for the Department of Energy, issued a request for information for an on-premises next-generation AI compute data center to train and operationalize large language models for scientific and national government missions. Roughly 2 MW at a possible 2028 launch, with potential future expansion to about 40 MW. This would be DOE-funded and DOE-operated, not a private operator building on federal land. No construction decision has been made — this is an RFI-stage proposal only. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the PNNL campus in Richland. Public-reception check (2026-09-10): Checked The Spokesman-Review's coverage (2026-09-10) of this DOE Genesis Mission-linked project; it covers technical specs and funding, with no resident, community-group, or elected-official reaction documented.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-04-26 · source-reported proposed

    PNNL confirmed it is 'considering the possibility of a small data center due to increased focus on AI at PNNL'; the RFI response window had closed.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001123

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Richland, WA · Benton (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-04-26 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 2 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →