This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Project Thunderbird (Enid).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Plainsmen Holdings, LLC
- Address and locality
- Enid · Garfield County · Oklahoma
- Official metro area
- Enid, OK
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 14 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001122
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- On-site gas
- On-site generation
- 3,300 MW (source-reported)
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 1,735 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced
- 8 September 2026
Provider notes
Energy. Behind-the-meter natural-gas-fired generation of up to 3.3 GW, developed in partnership with a midstream energy provider, enabled by Oklahoma's 2025 behind-the-meter law (SB 480). The developers also describe the plant as a backup supply to Vance Air Force Base. Generation capacity is the developers' stated figure, not a permitted or interconnected number.
Water. Developers state the campuses would use raw (untreated) pipeline water from the new Kaw Lake pipeline — the lake sits about 8 miles east of Ponca City — with closed-loop recirculating cooling rather than treated drinking water.
What the source record says
Four proposed campuses along a single corridor in Enid and Garfield County (sites north, east, west-central and south of Enid; Enid News & Eagle names 22nd and Phillips, 5th and Rupe, and South 5th south of Rupe). Acreage is reported as 1,735 by Oklahoma Energy Today and ~1,655 by the Enid News & Eagle — the larger figure is recorded here and the discrepancy is unresolved. Coordinates are the city of Enid: this is a four-campus proposal with no single footprint. The $35 billion investment figure appears only in secondary coverage and is omitted here. Briefed to Vance Air Force Base and the Department of the Air Force, but nothing has been signed.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-09-08 · source-reported proposed
Unveiled publicly by Plainsmen Holdings; no city approvals, formal agreements or MOUs signed. Final approval would rest with the Enid City Commission.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- UPDATED: Enid natives announce local data center, power generation project · Enid News & Eagle
- Massive data center campus unveiled for Enid · Oklahoma Energy Today
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID plainsmen-project-thunderbird-enid-ok. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001122
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Enid, OK · Garfield (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Plainsmen Holdings, LLC
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 8 September 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-09-08 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 1,735 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 3,300 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-14
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.