Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001089

Project Camellia (OpenAI Effingham County Campus)

source-reported proposed

OpenAI

Rincon · Effingham County · Georgia

Reported planned 3,200 MWSource updated 14 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Camellia (OpenAI Effingham County Campus).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
OpenAI
Address and locality
Rincon · Effingham County · Georgia
Official metro area
Savannah, GA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 3,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
14 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001089

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Georgia PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
1,400 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$20 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
400 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
22 July 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Provider notes

Energy. OpenAI contracted 3.2 GW with Georgia Power, to be delivered in phases between 2028 and 2032; the county says power generation is kept offsite and no diesel backup generators are planned post-completion.

Water. County materials describe a closed-loop cooling system drawing treated surface water only — not groundwater or the Floridan aquifer. The DRI form itself left water-use figures blank.

Community. Three residents — Michelle Finch-Mincey, Lehman Mincey Jr. and Raymond Carver — sued in Effingham County Superior Court, reported 2026-09-03, seeking to invalidate Ordinance 2026-352 (final approval 2026-08-04), which added data centers to the county's Permitted Use Table for industrially-zoned land. The complaint alleges the required public hearings before the planning board and county commission never occurred.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Reported water use: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Four data center buildings on roughly 1,400 acres inside the 2,600-acre Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub near Rincon. Effingham County values the project at $20B; OpenAI's VP of Compute Strategy has said full build-out will exceed $30B. Permanent staffing is described as ~400 at the 2028 opening rising to about 1,000 by 2032. Part of OpenAI's Stargate program.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-07-22 · source-reported proposed

    OpenAI and Effingham County announced a four-building campus at the Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub; a Development of Regional Impact application followed on 2026-07-24.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID openai-project-camellia-effingham-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001089

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Rincon, GA · Effingham (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: OpenAI

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 22 July 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-07-22 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,400 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 3,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Georgia Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $20 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 400 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Property tax abatement (50% for 15 years) · Effingham County, GA · 2026

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →