This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Nexus Hubbard Data Center & Power Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Nexus Data Centers
- Address and locality
- Hubbard · Hill County · Texas
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 612 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 25 August 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001048
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- On-site gas
- On-site generation
- 612 MW (source-reported)
- Cooling
- Not established
- Land area
- 2,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
Provider notes
Energy. Behind-the-meter natural gas: application identifies 55 combustion turbines / reciprocating engines for continuous operation plus 6 emergency-standby diesel generators. Publicly stated full-buildout target ~7.7 GW.
Water. Partnership with AirJoule Technologies to deploy waste-heat-to-water atmospheric extraction under an industrial-scale Water Purchase Agreement.
Community. Residents raised property-value, transparency, and drought-era water-use concerns at a Feb 24, 2026 Hill County Commissioners Court tax-abatement hearing; Nexus subsequently withdrew its tax-abatement request.
What the source record says
612 MW first-phase data center campus on ~2,000 acres on the outskirts of Hubbard (Hill County), between Highway 171 and County Road 3369; behind-the-meter natural gas generation. Led by CEO/managing partner Ivan Van der Walt. TCEQ air permit applications filed Dec 2025 (183046, PSDTX1700, GHGPSDTX269); ~500 MW targeted online late 2026; publicly stated eventual full-buildout target ~7.7 GW. No end-user customer publicly identified. Coordinate anchored on the city of Hubbard; exact parcel not confirmed.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-08-25 · source-reported under construction
Nexus reached Final Investment Decision (FID) for Phase 1 after securing financing led by Eagle Point Credit Management; the project has advanced from pre-NTP development to FID and construction continues, per Aug 19 2026 reporting.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- 600MW natural gas-powered data center campus proposed in Hubbard, Texas · Data Center Dynamics
- Nexus Data Centers — Hubbard Data Center & Power Project, Hill County TX · Nexus Data Centers
- Nexus Hubbard Campus (612 MW) listing · Data Center Map
- Nexus proposes 612MW campus (Dec 2025 TCEQ filing) · Data Center View
- TCEQ Air NSR — Nexus applied air permits 183046, PSDTX1700, GHGPSDTX269 (per Dec 2025 filing) · Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
- Lake Lander — Citizens voice concerns about Nexus data center negotiations
- Nexus Data Center Project in Hubbard, Texas Reaches FID as Construction Advances · Construction Review Online
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID nexus-hubbard-campus-hill-county-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001048
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Hubbard, TX · Hill (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Nexus Data Centers
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-08-25 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 2,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 612 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 612 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
Provider label: unknown.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-08-25
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.