Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001021

Murray Industries Pineville Data Center

source-reported proposed

Murray Industries

Pineville · Bell County · Kentucky

Reported planned 360 MWSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Murray Industries Pineville Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Murray Industries
Address and locality
Pineville · Bell County · Kentucky
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 360 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001021

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Louisville Gas and Electric and Kentucky Utilities (LG&E and KU)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Murray Industries says LG&E and KU have roughly 360 MW of additional capacity available near the site, which retains electrical infrastructure left over from coal mining. In a July 31, 2026 written update to the Kentucky Public Service Commission in Case No. 2025-00313, the utilities said electrical substation construction 'has commenced at the project site,' characterized the 'Pineville project' as having at least an 80% or 'imminent' likelihood of coming into operation, and said a reimbursement agreement had been executed with a tenant agreement in the works.

Community. Hundreds of residents filled the old courthouse in Pineville for a June 26, 2026 special-called fiscal court meeting to oppose the project over water quality, noise and road impacts; the fiscal court gave first reading to a moratorium that day and passed a two-year ban on data center construction in July 2026. Residents subsequently reported that land-clearing work continued despite the moratorium.

What the source record says

Lexington-based Murray Industries proposes a hyperscale data center on land along the Bell–Knox county line that its owner bought three years ago to mine coal and that retains electrical infrastructure from that use. The owner describes the investment as 'billions of dollars' (no specific figure published) and says newer closed-loop cooling would use far less water than older designs. Status is recorded as proposed, not under construction: the utilities' PSC filing reports substation construction at the site, but the data center itself is subject to a two-year county moratorium. The exact parcel has not been publicly identified, so coordinates are the Pineville (county seat) centroid and are approximate only — the site may be several kilometres from this pin.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID murray-industries-pineville-bell-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001021

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Pineville, KY · Bell (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Murray Industries

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 360 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Louisville Gas and Electric and Kentucky Utilities (LG&E and KU)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →