This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Mason County Data Center Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Undisclosed (Fortune 100 end user; rezoning sought through Mason County officials)
- Address and locality
- Maysville · Mason County · Kentucky
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 15 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000915
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 2,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1 billion
- Announced jobs
- 400 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: litigation
Provider notes
Community. The grassroots group 'We Are Mason County, KY' sued the county and its planning commission, arguing the approval process was rushed and that the county's comprehensive plan does not address where or how many data centers may be built. Residents have raised concerns about diesel generator noise, water use, electricity rates, air quality and displacement from a mobile home park; a 'Save Mason County' petition gathered more than 500 confirmed resident signatures.
What the source record says
Reported campus of six data center buildings plus three substations, office space and parking on land rezoned outside Maysville. The end user has not been publicly named; outlets describe it variously as a Fortune 100 and a Fortune 50 US technology company. Capacity figures conflict across sources: the Kentucky Lantern project tracker reports 1.2 GW (recorded here) while WVXU reports 2.2 GW — this is not settled. Construction-jobs figures also conflict (WCPO reports 1,000, LEX18 reports more than 1,500), so only the 400 permanent positions both report are recorded. LEX18 names Eastern Kentucky Power as the utility and WVXU references a Duke Energy Woodsdale substation expansion; because those two accounts are inconsistent, no energy record is asserted. Coordinates are a geocode of Big Pond Pike (reported as the site road, near KY-3056) and are approximate — the parcel boundaries are not published.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-05-22 · source-reported proposed
Mason County Fiscal Court gave final approval to rezone 28 properties outside Maysville from agricultural to rural industrial, clearing the way for a hyperscale data center campus. The undisclosed company retains final say on whether it develops the site.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Mason County gives final approval on rezoning properties for data center construction · WEKU
- Data center near Maysville sparks debate about land use · WVXU
- Mason County residents weigh billion-dollar data center proposal amid growing concerns · LEX18
- Potential for $1 billion data center sparks debate in rural Mason County · WCPO
- Data centers are being proposed – and sometimes approved – all over state (Kentucky Lantern project tracker: Mason County, undisclosed Fortune 100 company, 1.2 GW, planned) · Kentucky New Era / Kentucky Lantern
- EPIC Report No. 2026-001, Data Centers in Kentucky (§I.B lists Mason County among counties with projects under consideration) · Kentucky Energy Planning and Inventory Commission
- OpenStreetMap/Nominatim geocode of Big Pond Pike, Mason County, KY · OpenStreetMap
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID mason-county-hyperscale-campus-maysville-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000915
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Maysville, KY · Mason (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Undisclosed (Fortune 100 end user; rezoning sought through Mason County officials)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-05-22 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 2,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 400 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: litigation
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-15
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.