Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000864

LightEdge Ames Edge Colocation Data Center

source-reported proposed

LightEdge Solutions

Aviation Way · Ames · Story County · Iowa

Reported planned 25 MWSource updated 21 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for LightEdge Ames Edge Colocation Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
LightEdge Solutions
Address and locality
Aviation Way · Ames · Story County · Iowa
Official metro area
Ames, IA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 25 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000864

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Cooling
AirProvider label.
Land area
10.86 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Water. Air-cooled using chillers and fans rather than evaporative systems; LightEdge's proposal states approximately 0 gallons per day of cooling water, and cites its Altoona facility's 1,267 gallons a day — 5 percent of Iowa's 25,000-gallon permit threshold — as the reference case.

Community. The proposal would lease city-owned airport land, which put it in front of the council and the public: a first reading on 2026-06-23, a public listening session on 2026-06-30, and a decision point set for the 2026-07-28 council meeting. Residents organised against it, and the council acknowledged the proposal raises electrical capacity, transmission and distribution, and utility rate questions for Ames Electric Services. Reported estimates put a required dedicated substation at about $12 million. …

What the source record says

Proposed single-storey edge colocation facility on roughly 10.86 acres of Ames airport land on Aviation Way, in a Planned Industrial zone, adjacent to the Ames Regional Airport and the ISU Research Park. Phased electrical demand of 3 MW in phase one, 6 MW in phase two, and as much as 25 MW at full buildout over roughly ten years — reported locally as about a 15 percent increase in the city's total consumption. LightEdge explicitly rules out AI or hyperscale use: asked whether it would house AI servers, its proposal answers 'No. This is edge colocation.' aiClassification is therefore omitted. Reported at roughly 100,000 sq ft in local coverage, but the operator's own page does not state a square footage, so it is not recorded. Distinct site from the tracked LightEdge Altoona facility.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-06-23 · source-reported proposed

    Ames City Council first reading on the proposal to lease city airport land to LightEdge; decision point scheduled for 2026-07-28.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID lightedge-ames-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000864

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Aviation Way, Ames, IA · Story (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: LightEdge Solutions

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-06-23 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 10.86 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 25 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →