Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000862

Lex Developments AI Data Center (former Hoku polysilicon site)

source-reported cancelled

Lex Developments

Pocatello · Bannock County · Idaho

Capacity not statedSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Lex Developments AI Data Center (former Hoku polysilicon site).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Lex Developments
Address and locality
Pocatello · Bannock County · Idaho
Official metro area
Pocatello, ID
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000862

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Announced investment
$2.26 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Community. Hearing Examiner Kathleen Lewis denied the conditional use permit after a 2026-05-14 hearing, finding the application did not meet Pocatello Municipal Code 17.02.130(D)'s criteria that the use adequately serve public facilities and not be detrimental to public health, safety, or welfare; critics said the applicant could not answer specifics of the conditions and no tenant was confirmed pending an Idaho Power capacity study. Lex Developments (represented by Gus Shultz) appealed; the Pocatello City Council voted 4-1 on 2026-07-16 to uphold the denial. …

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Projected investment of $2.26 billion and 150-300 permanent local jobs were part of the developer's denied application (Idaho State Journal), not a built or committed project. No MW capacity, secured tenant, or site acreage was stated in either source fetched. This pin is a Pocatello city-centroid placeholder (precision: approximate): neither source fetched gave a parcel-level address for the former Hoku polysilicon site, and OpenStreetMap has no feature for it. It is NOT a claim about where on the Hoku parcel the proposal sat, and it is not co-located with the FBI Grey Wolf record in this batch, whose pin was corrected to its own OSM building POI 4.0 km north.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-05 · source-reported proposed

    Lex Developments sought a conditional use permit for a ~$2.26 billion AI data center at the former Hoku Materials polysilicon plant site (River Park Complex).

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-07 · source-reported cancelled

    Pocatello City Council voted 4-1 to uphold the Hearing Examiner's denial of the conditional use permit, ending the local approval path as of retrieval.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID lex-developments-pocatello-id. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000862

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Pocatello, ID · Bannock (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Lex Developments

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-05 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-07 · source-reported cancelled

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $2.26 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →