Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000617

FBI Grey Wolf Data Center

source-reported operational

Federal Bureau of Investigation (U.S. Department of Justice)

Duckett Byrnes Street · Pocatello · Bannock County · Idaho

Capacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for FBI Grey Wolf Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Federal Bureau of Investigation (U.S. Department of Justice)
Address and locality
Duckett Byrnes Street · Pocatello · Bannock County · Idaho
Official metro area
Pocatello, ID
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000617

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Announced investment
$100 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
300 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →

What the source record says

A ~$100 million expansion (dubbed 'Grey Wolf') consolidating IT operations for the FBI, U.S. Marshals Service, a U.S. Attorney's Office, the Bureau of Prisons, and the Treasury Department, as part of a nationwide DOJ consolidation from roughly 110 data centers down to three (Pocatello, ID; Clarksburg, WV; Sterling, VA) -- reported to have generated over $135 million in savings. 140,000 sq ft total: 100,000 sq ft of secure data-center space plus 40,000 sq ft of office space. Broke ground October 2017; ribbon-cutting held 2019-11-18, with 300 staff at opening and stated room to grow by roughly 250 more over two to five years. Coordinates corrected 2026-09-12 from a Pocatello city-centroid placeholder to the OpenStreetMap POI for the FBI facility on Duckett Byrnes Street (cited below); the pin is building-level, not parcel-surveyed, hence precision remains approximate. Neither press source fetched stated a street address or MW capacity. aiClassification omitted: this is general-purpose government IT/records infrastructure, not an AI-oriented facility.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID fbi-greywolf-pocatello-id. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000617

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Duckett Byrnes Street, Pocatello, ID · Bannock (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Federal Bureau of Investigation (U.S. Department of Justice)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $100 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 300 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →