This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Jefferson Proving Ground Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Undisclosed
- Address and locality
- Madison · Jefferson County · Indiana
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 21 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000838
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 549 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- 2026
Provider notes
Community. A formal zoning appeal challenging the project was filed and denied (May 2026) after a ~5.5-hour hearing; opponents raised environmental concerns over proximity to the Big Oaks National Wildlife Refuge and local water/utility strain.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
Proposed hyperscale campus of nine buildings totaling ~7.1 million sq ft on 549 acres of the former Jefferson Proving Ground airfield, on land owned by the Ford family (Daniel Ford); the end-user/operator has not been publicly disclosed. Reported to draw hundreds of megawatts and be roughly 78% larger than Meta's Lebanon campus; projected 300-450 permanent jobs and ~$60M in annual county tax revenue. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the former proving-ground airfield north of Madison. CONFIRMED ABSENCE, re-checked 2026-09-10: no official capacity, utility partner, or anchor-company figure has been released for this site. Independent, unofficial estimates cited in the same article range widely — one expert (Chien) says 9 GW 'is not unreasonable' for a power-dense AI training facility, while another (Inskeep) is 'very confident' it will need at least 1 GW — but neither is a project-stated figure, so capacityMw is intentionally left unset rather than guessed. Site size (549 acres, former Jefferson Proving Grounds Army base, ~8 miles north of Madison, IN) matches the existing record.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-05 · source-reported permitted
Jefferson County Board of Zoning Appeals denied an appeal and county commissioners upheld the zoning approval, allowing the project to move forward.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Commissioners uphold decision to allow a data center on 550 acres at Jefferson Proving Grounds · WHAS11
- Zoning board allows controversial Madison data center project to move forward · WDRB
- Proposed JPG data center could generate $60M taxes annually · The Madison Courier
- Questions persist about who will power the massive data center near Madison, Indiana · WHAS11
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID jefferson-proving-ground-data-center-jefferson-county-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000838
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Madison, IN · Jefferson (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Undisclosed
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-05 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 549 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-21
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.