This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Crusoe Nolan County Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Crusoe Energy Systems
- Address and locality
- Sweetwater · Nolan County · Texas
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 14 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000349
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Cooling
- Not established
- Announced jobs
- 2,000 construction
- Community response
- Provider label: mixed
- Announced
- 13 April 2026
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Nolan County 10-year tax abatement · Nolan County, Texas · 2026 Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. A Nolan County commissioner states the data center will provide its own electricity and should not draw on residential supply; the generation type is not identified in the source.
Water. The abatement agreement is reported to include water restrictions, metered water wells, mandatory reporting and penalties if the aquifer is harmed.
Community. Commissioners approved a 10-year abatement on April 13, 2026, with over $3M a year in PILOT and over $2M a year in charitable contributions. One resident spoke in support and another opposed it over the town's rural character.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Announced investment: Row notes expressly leave the conflicting $7B/$70M reports unresolved.
What the source record says
Reported to generate more than $3m annually in payments in lieu of taxes plus more than $2m annually in charitable contributions to Nolan County. No investment figure is recorded here: the cited article headlines the project at $7 billion while other outlets have described a $70 million Crusoe data center in the same county, and the discrepancy is unresolved. Distinct from IREN's Sweetwater campus, which is a different operator on a different site in the same county. Coordinates are a city-level geocode.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-04-13 · source-reported proposed
Nolan County commissioners approved a 10-year tax abatement for the project.
Sources and attribution
- 'It will change our rural town': Tax abatement for $7 billion Texas data center approved · KTXS (Sinclair)
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID crusoe-nolan-county-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000349
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Sweetwater, TX · Nolan (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Crusoe Energy Systems
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 13 April 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-04-13 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
The provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 2,000 construction
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: mixed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: Nolan County 10-year tax abatement · Nolan County, Texas · 2026
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-14
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.