Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000163

AWS Sprigg Township Data Center Campus (Buck Canyon)

source-reported permitted

Amazon Web Services (land held via Buck Canyon Properties)

Manchester · Adams County · Ohio

Reported planned 1,300 MWSource updated 9 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for AWS Sprigg Township Data Center Campus (Buck Canyon).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services (land held via Buck Canyon Properties)
Address and locality
Manchester · Adams County · Ohio
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
9 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000163

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
AES OhioUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
1,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$10 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
500 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
February 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. AWS will fund, build, own, and operate an on-site substation; site sits on ~1,000 acres including a former DP&L landfill, near the retired J.M. Stuart coal plant.

Community. Sprigg Township passed a 12-month data center moratorium (2026-02-26) after residents learned of the project; a resident-founded group (Conserve Ohio) is pushing a statewide ban on large-scale data centers, citing rising electricity costs and water/environmental concerns.

What the source record says

No formal development proposal has been filed with Adams County per county officials as of Aug 2026, but a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nationwide Permit 39 was issued 2026-02-18 covering site work, and the county's own AWS project page states initial earthwork is expected in 2026 (general contractor not yet determined).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-02-18 · source-reported permitted

    U.S. Army Corps of Engineers issued Nationwide Permit No. 39 for site work near the former Stuart/Killen power-plant sites.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-sprigg-township-adams-county-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000163

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Manchester, OH · Adams (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Amazon Web Services (land held via Buck Canyon Properties)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: February 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-02-18 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: AES Ohio

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $10 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 500 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →