This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Blackwell Road Data Center (Warrenton).
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Data Services
- Address and locality
- Warrenton · Fauquier County · Virginia
- Official metro area
- Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 40 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 3 September 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000060
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Dominion Energy Virginia
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 42 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
Provider notes
Community. Warrenton town staff approved the site plan (Apr 2024) over public criticism from opposition groups Protect Fauquier and Citizens for Fauquier County, who said the process was rushed and ignored citizen concerns.
What the source record says
Town of Warrenton SUP-22-3; 220,000 sq ft on 42 acres; site plan approved with 27 conditions (Apr 2024).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2024-04-01 · source-reported permitted
Town of Warrenton SUP-22-3 site plan approved with 27 conditions, April 2024.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Warrenton town staff approves site plan for Amazon data center (SUP-22-3) · Fauquier Now
- Amazon Blackwell Frequently Asked Questions (Town of Warrenton / PEC town hall handout) · Piedmont Environmental Council / Town of Warrenton
- Fauquier County CAMA/Tax Parcels GIS layer — parcel 6984-69-2419-000, owner Amazon Data Services Inc, site address 719 Blackwell Rd
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID amazon-blackwell-road-warrenton-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000060
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Warrenton, VA · Fauquier (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: Amazon Data Services
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2024-04-01 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 42 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 40 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Dominion Energy Virginia
Utility as named by the provider.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-03
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.