Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001581

Wiscasset Data Center (Old Ferry Road Site)

source-reported proposed

Unnamed developer (NDA with town)

Wiscasset · Lincoln County · Maine

Capacity not statedSource updated 23 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Wiscasset Data Center (Old Ferry Road Site).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Unnamed developer (NDA with town)
Address and locality
Wiscasset · Lincoln County · Maine
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
23 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001581

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Central Maine PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
OtherProvider label.
Land area
200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
September 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Power source not disclosed. Site is adjacent to former Maine Yankee Atomic Energy Plant on the Sheepscot River. Town signed NDA with developer in August 2025 prohibiting disclosure of developer identity.

Community. Grassroots group Protect Wiscasset formed by Richard Davis. Selectboard reportedly voted November 4, 2025 to pause data center discussions (primary source was published November 3, pre-vote). Lincoln County rescinded $240,000 in ARPA affordable housing funds from Wiscasset citing incompatibility between data center and housing on the same parcel. RePower Wiscasset also formed in opposition.

What the source record says

Coordinates are approximate, based on Wiscasset area near former Maine Yankee site. Developer identity remains undisclosed per NDA. As of March 2026 Lincoln County reallocated ARPA funds to Waldoboro and Newcastle. Land remains undeveloped. investmentUsd removed: the $5B figure was cited in press at announcement but is not present in the Central Maine article (the only resolvable primary source) and could not be confirmed from any URL that returned content; Maine Morning Star (secondary source) returned HTTP 403. Operator field lists 'Unnamed developer (NDA with town)' as that is the factual status.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-09 · source-reported proposed

    Unnamed developer approaches Wiscasset about data center on 200-acre Old Ferry Road parcel adjacent to former Maine Yankee plant; town signs NDA in August 2025. Investment size reported in press at announcement but not independently verifiable from resolvable sources.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-11 · source-reported proposed

    Wiscasset selectboard reportedly votes to pause data center discussions November 4, 2025; Lincoln County rescinds $240,000 ARPA housing funds (confirmed); selectboard establishes competitive bidding process

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID wiscasset-proposed-me. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001581

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Wiscasset, ME · Lincoln (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Unnamed developer (NDA with town)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: September 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-09 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-11 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Central Maine Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Other

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-23

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →