Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001553

Volition Spanish Fork Data Center

source-reported proposed

Volition Industries

Spanish Fork · Utah County · Utah

Reported planned 250 MWSource updated 8 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Volition Spanish Fork Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Volition Industries
Address and locality
Spanish Fork · Utah County · Utah
Official metro area
Provo-Orem-Lehi, UT
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
8 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001553

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power source
OtherProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Announced investment
$4 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Proposed energy-independent design using Bloom Energy fuel cells for on-site power generation, per servercountry.org; closed-loop water cooling system.

Water. 500,000 gallons for initial fill; ~250,000 gallons/year thereafter, per proposal terms discussed at the August 20, 2026 city council meeting.

Community. At an Aug 19, 2026 Spanish Fork City Council public hearing, nearly two hours of public comment ran almost unanimously against the project over unverified environmental claims, wildlife/water-resource risk, and proximity to residences; the council tabled the Title 15 zoning amendments the project needs to proceed.

What the source record says

Proposed retrofit of a ~1M sq ft former Fingerhut distribution warehouse at the mouth of Spanish Fork Canyon; faced significant resident opposition at an August 20, 2026 public hearing; not yet zoned for the use. Subsidies checked at the municipal tier (2026-09-05): no site-level subsidy found. The company is on record declining to seek one: "Volition is not requesting any tax breaks, Chavez said, and instead would be generating around $44 million in tax revenue for the city, school district and other taxing entities." No Spanish Fork RDA/CRA project area or participation agreement naming Volition or the site was located. Utah's EDTIF programme excludes data centres and the UCA 59-12-104 exemption is self-executing.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-08-20 · source-reported proposed

    Spanish Fork City Council tabled a vote on the municipal-code amendments (Title 15) needed to permit the project, pending written council concerns due August 24, 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID volition-spanish-fork-ut. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001553

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Spanish Fork, UT · Utah (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Volition Industries

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-08-20 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 250 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power source: Other

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $4 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-08

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →