Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001510

U-M / Los Alamos Research Computing Center

source-reported proposed

University of Michigan (with Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Textile Road near Bridge Road · Ypsilanti · Washtenaw County · Michigan

Capacity not statedSource updated 7 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for U-M / Los Alamos Research Computing Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
University of Michigan (with Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Address and locality
Textile Road near Bridge Road · Ypsilanti · Washtenaw County · Michigan
Official metro area
Ann Arbor, MI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
7 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001510

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
144 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$1.2 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • State of Michigan grant for the research computing center (program name not stated in source) · Michigan · 2024 · $100 million (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. Ypsilanti Township has passed resolutions against the project and encouraged a year-long pause on data center approvals. Township Supervisor Brenda Stumbo called the siting 'offensive, disgusting and gross to our community' and township attorney Doug Winters said 'We're going to fight.' No court action is reported in the source, so community.status is 'opposed' rather than 'litigation'. A community town hall was scheduled for 2026-09-09.

What the source record says

144-acre site on Textile Road near Bridge Road in Ypsilanti Charter Township, far eastern Washtenaw County, near the Huron River. LANL's own announcement (source 1) states the site will house TWO computing centers — one for Los Alamos national-security AI research and development and an adjacent academic computing center for U-M faculty, students and partner universities. They are recorded here as a single campus record because both sources describe one adjacent pair on one site; if township approvals end up treating them as separately-permitted buildings, this should be split. CONFIRMED ABSENCES: neither source states a megawatt capacity ('capacity figures: none disclosed' per LANL), a water or cooling design, or job counts — those fields are omitted rather than estimated. LANL states the funding mix was not finalised at announcement; the $1.2B total and the $100M state grant are Bridge Michigan's figures. aiClassification 'confirmed' — both sources describe the facility's explicit purpose as AI research. Coordinates are the US Census geocoder's match for the Textile Rd / Bridge Rd intersection named in the sources; the 144-acre parcel boundary is not confirmed.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-12 · source-reported proposed

    Project announced by U-M and Los Alamos National Laboratory; $100 million state grant approved.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-08 · source-reported proposed

    U-M affirmed the Textile Road site on 2026-08-11 after selecting it as the preferred location; land had been purchased in 2025.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID umich-lanl-research-computing-ypsilanti-township-mi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001510

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Textile Road near Bridge Road, Ypsilanti, MI · Washtenaw (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: University of Michigan (with Los Alamos National Laboratory)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2024-12 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-08 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 144 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1.2 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: State of Michigan grant for the research computing center (program name not stated in source) · Michigan · 2024 · $100 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-07

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →