Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001481

Town of Janesville Data Center Inquiry (Polzin/Fenric Roads)

source-reported proposed

Undisclosed (approached through a San Diego-based consulting firm)

North Polzin Road at West Fenric Road · Janesville · Rock County · Wisconsin

Capacity not statedSource updated 13 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Town of Janesville Data Center Inquiry (Polzin/Fenric Roads).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Undisclosed (approached through a San Diego-based consulting firm)
Address and locality
North Polzin Road at West Fenric Road · Janesville · Rock County · Wisconsin
Official metro area
Janesville-Beloit, WI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
13 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001481

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
80 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. An opposition petition gathered roughly 100 signatures per the town clerk, who said he had "never seen a proposal like this in the town." The Town of Janesville board subsequently approved a data center moratorium, one of several Rock County townships to do so.

What the source record says

The third of three Rock County data center proposals and the only one not already tracked here: the other two are the City of Janesville / former GM site (Viridian Acquisitions, tracked as viridian-apecs-janesville-wi) and the Town of Beloit quarry campus (tracked as cambrin-project-cornmaze-town-of-beloit-wi, since taken over by Panattoni Development and extended into the Town of Turtle as "Project Cornmaze"). This is in the unincorporated TOWN of Janesville, not the city. The end user has never been named; one leaked email referenced an entity called IGNIS, which no fetched source corroborates, so the operator field records only what is verifiable. Coordinates are a street-level geocode of North Polzin Road, not a parcel.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-04 · source-reported proposed

    The town received a letter proposing the concept of a data center on 80 acres of farmland at the corner of North Polzin Road and West Fenric Road, near dozens of homes; contact came through a San Diego-based consulting firm. Rock County planning staff described it as "more speculative" with no application filed, and the town board said no NDAs were signed.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID town-of-janesville-data-center-rock-county-wi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001481

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • North Polzin Road at West Fenric Road, Janesville, WI · Rock (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Undisclosed (approached through a San Diego-based consulting firm)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 80 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-13

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →