This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Project Liberty (Stream Data Centers, Marion County Industrial Park).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Stream Data Centers (site entity: Eagle Myra, LLC)
- Address and locality
- Marion · Marion County · South Carolina
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 10 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001383
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 400 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $2.4 billion
- Announced jobs
- 60 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
Provider notes
Community. Marion County Council approved the FILOT/incentive package under NDAs across three readings in January 2026, before residents were publicly informed of the project (then code-named Eagle Myra LLC / Project Liberty). Residents organized (via the United People Project) citing lack of transparency and drought/water-use concerns; the developer's own June 2026 withdrawal statement cited only utility timing, not the opposition, as the reason.
What the source record says
Planned for ~400 acres in the Marion County Industrial Park on the U.S. Highway 501 Bypass between Marion and Mullins; up to nine buildings across two phases. Investment reported as $800M for phase 1 / $2.4B for full buildout; $2.4B recorded here as the more complete stated figure. County projected $28M in annual tax revenue. No specific parcel/address was made public before withdrawal — coordinates are Marion, SC town center, precision approximate. Council members had signed NDAs preventing community notification before the January vote.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-01 · source-reported proposed
Marion County Council approved a FILOT agreement, special-source revenue credits, and multi-county industrial park access across three readings in January 2026.
- 2026-06 · source-reported cancelled
Stream Data Centers withdrew, stating utility power could not be sourced to the site within the required timeframe.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Rural SC residents didn't know about an $800M data center before approval. Now they have questions. · The Post and Courier
- Developer pulls plug on $2.4B data center deal in rural SC · The Post and Courier
- Stream Data Centers pulls out of controversial Marion County project · WMBF News
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID stream-data-centers-project-liberty-marion-county-sc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001383
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Marion, SC (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Stream Data Centers (site entity: Eagle Myra, LLC)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-01 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-06 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 400 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $2.4 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 60 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-10
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.