This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Stratos AI Data Center Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- O'Leary Digital
- Address and locality
- Lucin · Box Elder County · Utah
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 9,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 23 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001377
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Raft Rural Electric Co-op Inc
- Power source
- On-site gas
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 40,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- April 2026
Provider notes
Energy. Ruby Pipeline (680-mile interstate natural gas line) runs through Hansel Valley; 3,000-acre solar array planned; fully off-grid design
Water. Closed-loop system using on-site saline water described as unsuitable for human or agricultural use; developer states no diversion from Great Salt Lake basin
Community. Community opposition over fast-tracked MIDA process, CO2 emissions (~34M metric tons/year at full build), light/noise pollution, and Great Salt Lake impacts. Utah Senate President called for 75% footprint reduction; O'Leary agreed to cut acreage by 50% (remove ~20,000 acres). Governor Cox ordered 'careful consideration' of environmental impacts.
What the source record says
Hansel Valley and Locomotive Valley, western Box Elder County near Lucin, UT. 60 planned data centers on initial 10,000-acre phase. 9GW is full-buildout figure; Phase 1 ~3GW. Total cost projected $100B+ at full buildout; only $20M invested as of mid-2026. Designed by Gensler. Environmental permitting via Utah DEQ expected to take ~2 years. MIDA oversight provides state-level approval authority. Coordinates are approximate for western Box Elder County; exact site boundaries unpublished. Subsidies checked at the municipal tier (2026-09-05): no site-level subsidy found. Box Elder County's own Stratos Project Fact Sheet states directly: "No County funds are required to build the project. All funds will come from the developers and private investors." A May 2026 MIDA interlocal agreement covers land-use and permitting review governance (a development review committee, subdivision/site-plan requirements), not a tax-increment or abatement arrangement, and MIDA's own project-area records — which could confirm or rule out a tax-increment component — were unreachable this session (mida.utah.gov redirected to an unrelated login page). Utah's EDTIF programme excludes data centres and the UCA 59-12-104 exemption is self-executing.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-04 · source-reported proposed
MIDA Board approved Stratos Project Area on April 24, 2026; Box Elder County Commission approved interlocal agreement May 4, 2026
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Stratos Project Fact Sheet — Box Elder County · Box Elder County, UT
- Renderings show Stratos data center but permits could take years · Utah News Dispatch
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID stratos-box-elder-ut. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001377
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Lucin, UT · Box Elder (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: O'Leary Digital
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: April 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 40,000 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 9,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Raft Rural Electric Co-op Inc
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-23
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.