This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Solon Township Data Center (16-17 Mile Road, US-131).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Undisclosed technology company (site search via The Right Place)
- Address and locality
- Solon Township · Kent County · Michigan
- Official metro area
- Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood, MI
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 14 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- rumored (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001328
What the source record says
No official proposal had been submitted to Solon Township as of the cited reporting, and the end user is not named. Filed as rumored. Distinct from the tracked Microsoft sites in Gaines, Lowell and Dorr townships — Solon is north of Grand Rapids and the company has not been identified.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-02 · source-reported proposed
Developers are eyeing farmland just west of U.S. 131 between 16 and 17 Mile roads, most of it zoned agricultural/residential. The Right Place confirmed "a few leading U.S.-based technology companies have approached The Right Place to explore developing data centers in our region, including one in Solon Township." Township adopted a six-month moratorium in February 2026, later extended.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Developers eye Solon Township farmland for potential data center · FOX 17 West Michigan
- How many AI data centers are planned in Michigan? We counted. · Gander Newsroom
- OpenStreetMap/Nominatim geocode for Solon Township, Kent County, Michigan (township-level pin) · OpenStreetMap
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID solon-township-data-center-kent-mi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001328
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Solon Township, MI · Kent (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Undisclosed technology company (site search via The Right Place)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-02 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-14
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.