Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001249

RB Inyokern Data Center

source-reported proposed

R&L Capital, Inc.

Inyokern · Kern County · California

Reported planned 99 MWSource updated 29 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for RB Inyokern Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
R&L Capital, Inc.
Address and locality
Inyokern · Kern County · California
Official metro area
Bakersfield-Delano, CA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 99 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
29 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001249

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Southern California Edison (SCE)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
55.54 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$250 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
8 May 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Primary power via a 115 kV grid interconnection; the 99 MW SPPE docket capacity is diesel backup generation, not the grid draw.

Community. Active opposition (Ridgecrest City Councilman Skip Gorman; the Indian Wells Valley groundwater basin is in critical overdraft, with water-use estimates ranging from the company's claim of 50 acre-ft/yr or less to opposition estimates of approximately 500 acre-ft/yr) alongside organized labor support - IBEW Local 47 and regional Building & Construction Trades Councils have filed CEC letters of support. Filed at 99 MW, just under the 100 MW threshold that would trigger a more rigorous CEC Application for Certification instead of the lighter SPPE exemption.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Unincorporated Kern County site south of West Inyokern Road (Hwy 178) and west of North Brown Road (APNs 084-010-43, -44, -45 portion; broader ~95-acre study area across 19 APNs). The CEC SPPE docket formally governs 40 diesel backup generator sets rated to 99 MW combined backup capacity, described by the CEC as not electrically interconnected to the transmission or distribution grid; primary power is a separate 115 kV interconnection to Southern California Edison. Proposer entities per the primary CEC filing: Intuva Inc. and Valley Wide Engineering & Construction, alongside applicant R&L Capital, Inc. (CEO Robbie Barker). Unconfirmed pending a direct read of the CEC Basis-of-Design filing: press claims of '6 modular data halls' and on-site canopy solar. Jobs figures are inconsistent across sources (30-60 permanent, 1,600 temporary construction, and a softer 530-total-including-indirect claim, all secondary/company-sourced) and are omitted from the structured jobs field for that reason. Investment (~$250M) is a company estimate reported by Tehachapi News, not seen in a primary filing. A Phase I cultural resources survey found no CRHR-eligible or tribal cultural resources (NAHC response negative, 2026-03-16). Distinct from the already-tracked Golden Valley Technology Hub (Beacon/CRC, Elk Hills) - different operator, site, capacity, and power model. Coordinates are an approximate road-intersection geocode near North Brown Road, not a parcel-confirmed point.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-05-08 · source-reported proposed

    R&L Capital, Inc. filed a Small Power Plant Exemption (SPPE) application with the California Energy Commission (Docket 26-SPPE-01) for a phased 30-35 MW to 65-70 MW to 99 MW backup-generation buildout.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID rb-inyokern-data-center-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

State or local registry record

What a state or local government record says naming this company in this city (no street is given in the record). The record is cited, not republished. It does not establish that a data center is operating, its capacity, or its owner or operator unless the record says that role. It is not added to the counts on this page.

Matched by name and city only. The government record names R&L Capital, Inc. in Inyokern and gives no street. It is shown here because this is the only published record with that name in that city; it may concern another site of the same company there.

RB Inyokern Data Center

Publishing agency
California Energy Commission
Record type
energy siting case
Record identifiers
26-SPPE-01
Named in the record
R&L Capital, Inc. The record does not call this company the operator.
Status wording
planned Source captured 26 September 2026; this is not a status effective date. Lifecycle wording on the cited government record. Not an independent determination that the facility is operating, under construction, or planned today.
Location precision
Inyokern only The record names a city and no street. It is not placed on the map and is not a distinct-site finding.

Factual fields cited to the named government page. DataCenterData does not republish the page or the underlying database. A permit, certification, tax status, or application does not by itself establish an operating data center.

What this record does not establish

  • That a permit, certification, tax status, or application means an operating data center.
  • Current IT capacity, utility load, or generation capacity.
  • Who operates the site. A company named in the record is not the operator unless the record says so.
  • Cooling redundancy. Mentioned equipment is not a design rating.
  • Whether the record covers one building, a campus, or a suite, beyond the unit label the record itself uses.
No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001249

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Inyokern, CA · Kern (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: R&L Capital, Inc.

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 8 May 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-05-08 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 55.54 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 99 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Southern California Edison (SCE)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $250 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-29

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →