Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001084

Oakland University Campus Computing Facility

source-reported proposed

Fairmount Properties (with Oakland University)

Auburn Hills · Oakland County · Michigan

Reported planned 26 MWSource updated 7 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Oakland University Campus Computing Facility.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Fairmount Properties (with Oakland University)
Address and locality
Auburn Hills · Oakland County · Michigan
Official metro area
Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 26 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
7 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001084

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
DTE EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
15 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
30 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Provider notes

Energy. Planned to draw on existing, unutilized capacity at the on-campus DTE substation.

Water. University states a cooling system that minimizes water consumption, with use anticipated to be comparable to a standard campus office building; the technology is not named.

Community. Trustees approved 7-0-1, but some faculty and students remain opposed over environmental impact and the adjacent Native American heritage site.

What the source record says

Proposed shared university/industry colocation facility on OU's campus (Auburn Hills/Rochester border); site shifted from Parking Lot 35 to Parking Lot 37 to increase distance from a campus hall, a nature preserve, and a Native American heritage site. Cleveland-based Fairmount Properties funds construction, operations, and eventual decommissioning; OU pays nothing and gains an 8x expansion of its own computing capacity. Board of Trustees voted 7-0-1 to proceed into due diligence, design, and construction phases (June 2026); published timeline has due diligence running Oct 2026-June 2027, design July 2027-Fall 2028. Coordinates are an approximate campus-area estimate, not parcel-geocoded. Status re-check, NO change: the only 2026 milestone on the university's own timeline is a Board of Trustees authorization to proceed into due diligence and design (June 2026, already before the record's 2026-08-08 basis). A governing-board authorization is not a municipal permit and no construction start is claimed, so the record stays 'proposed'.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID oakland-university-computing-auburn-hills-mi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001084

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Auburn Hills, MI · Oakland (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Fairmount Properties (with Oakland University)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 15 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 26 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: DTE Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 30 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-07

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →