Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001055

NorthMark Strategies Spartanburg High-Performance Computing Center

source-reported under construction

Valara Holdings (NorthMark Strategies)

4000 South Pine Street · Spartanburg · Spartanburg County · South Carolina · 29302

Reported planned 450 MWSource updated 13 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for NorthMark Strategies Spartanburg High-Performance Computing Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Valara Holdings (NorthMark Strategies)
Address and locality
4000 South Pine Street · Spartanburg · Spartanburg County · South Carolina · 29302
Official metro area
Spartanburg, SC
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 450 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
13 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001055

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power source
On-site gasProvider label.
Cooling
EvaporativeProvider label.
Reported water use
0.459 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Announced investment
$2.8 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
27 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. The project is being built with on-site power generation rather than drawing the full load from the local grid. NorthMark applied to the S.C. Department of Environmental Services on 2026-03-04 for 'additional equipment to support increased power generation capacity' at the site; the application was under technical review as of April 2026.

What the source record says

Adaptive reuse of the former Kohler manufacturing facility in Spartanburg County, developed by NorthMark Strategies through its subsidiary Valara Holdings. This is a DIFFERENT Spartanburg County site from the tracked Greenidge record at 300 Jones Road. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the South Pine Street address reported in local coverage; no parcel-level source was retrieved. Subsidies checked 2026-09-10: Spartanburg County Council approved a tax incentive package for the project, but the article does not give a FILOT dollar figure or program name -- only projected resulting property-tax revenue ($10.5M in 2026 rising to $15M/yr 2029-2045). Not filing a structured subsidies entry since no incentive amount is stated; flagging for a follow-up pass that can find the actual FILOT ordinance.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-04-23 · source-reported under construction

    Facility in development at the former Kohler manufacturing plant in Spartanburg County; slated to go online later in 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID northmark-valara-spartanburg-sc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001055

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 4000 South Pine Street, Spartanburg, SC 29302 (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Valara Holdings (NorthMark Strategies)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-04-23 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 450 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power source: On-site gas

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Evaporative

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 0.459 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $2.8 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 27 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-13

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →