Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001031

NE Edge Millstone Nuclear Data Center

source-reported cancelled

NE Edge

Waterford · New London County · Connecticut

Reported planned 300 MWSource updated 6 July 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for NE Edge Millstone Nuclear Data Center.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
NE Edge
Address and locality
Waterford · New London County · Connecticut
Official metro area
Norwich-New London-Willimantic, CT
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
6 July 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001031

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Dominion Energy (Millstone Nuclear Power Station)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
NuclearProvider label.
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2023Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Proposed direct electrical interconnection to Millstone Units 2 and 3; 15% of Millstone output reserved for data centers. Host fee agreement executed March 2023 ($231M over 30 years to Waterford in lieu of taxes).

Community. Concerned Citizens of Waterford and East Lyme (CCWEL) formed in opposition. CT Siting Council denied Dominion's petition (January 2024) citing lack of information. Opposition demonstrated via ISO-NE data that both Millstone reactors were simultaneously inoperable for 5 weeks, contradicting developer's reliability claims. CT Attorney General reviewed monopolization concerns.

What the source record says

Connecticut has no hyperscale data centers. Governor Lamont's administration has since required new data centers to bring their own power generation rather than draw from the grid, and has proposed a PILOT framework in lieu of the prior tax incentive structure. Only one company (Cigna) used Connecticut's data center tax incentive since its enactment.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2023-01 · source-reported proposed

    NE Edge presents hyperscale data center plan to Waterford town leaders; two 2-story facilities, 1.5M sq ft, on less than 5% of Millstone's 526-acre site

    Open cited source →

  2. 2023-03 · source-reported proposed

    Host fee agreement signed between NE Edge-Waterford LLC, Dominion Energy, and Town of Waterford ($231M over 30 years)

    Open cited source →

  3. 2024-01 · source-reported cancelled

    CT Siting Council denies Dominion's petition for exemption from state review. Host fee agreement terminated by default.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID ne-edge-millstone-ct. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001031

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Waterford, CT · New London (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: NE Edge

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2023

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2023-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2023-03 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-01 · source-reported cancelled

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Dominion Energy (Millstone Nuclear Power Station)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Nuclear

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-06

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →