This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Monarch Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Copia Power
- Address and locality
- Yerington · Lyon County · Nevada
- Official metro area
- Reno, NV
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 14 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001013
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- NV Energy
- Power source
- On-site gas
- On-site generation
- 500 MW (source-reported)
- Cooling
- Air
- Land area
- 505 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- July 2025
Provider notes
Energy. Copia Power would initially self-supply from an on-site 500 MW natural gas plant plus battery energy storage, phasing in NV Energy grid supply later. Project representatives cited NV Energy's resource plan commitment of 2,550 MW to data centers.
Water. Air-cooled closed-loop design. Application materials estimate under 100 acre-feet annually; the county staff report cites under 800 acre-feet yearly. The Sierra Club and the Walker River Paiute and Yerington Paiute tribes object that the site would rely on groundwater in an over-appropriated basin.
Community. Nearly 300 people attended the August 2026 commission meeting, a strong majority speaking in opposition. The Walker River Paiute and Yerington Paiute tribes passed formal resolutions opposing the project and stated they would pursue legal action over cultural resources and sacred sites.
What the source record says
Roughly 505 acres in Mason Valley near Yerington; a 4.6 million-square-foot campus with north and south sub-campuses, a battery energy storage system, a natural gas plant, a substation and power lines across two parcels. First phase would provide 150 MW of the 1,000 MW total. Copia Power has one year to file its final PUD. Lyon County is drafting a stricter data center ordinance that will not apply retroactively to Monarch.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-08-06 · source-reported permitted
Lyon County Board of Commissioners voted 3-1 to approve the planned unit development rezoning. Final PUD design approval, state permits (NDEP, State Engineer) and land purchase are still outstanding.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Lyon County Commissioners approve Monarch Data Center · KOLO 8 News Now
- Massive data center in Lyon County is one step closer to being built · Carson Now / The Nevada Independent
- Lyon County Commissioners approve rezoning for Monarch Data Center · NVBEX
- Lyon County Presses Ahead with Power Improvement District - Monarch described as eight two-story buildings plus an electrical substation · NVBEX
- A massive data center in rural Nevada is one step closer to being built · The Nevada Independent
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID monarch-data-center-yerington-nv. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001013
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Yerington, NV · Lyon (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Copia Power
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: July 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-08-06 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 505 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: NV Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 500 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Air
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-14
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.