Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000922

Menomonie Data Center Campus

source-reported proposed

Undisclosed (Balloonist LLC)

Menomonie · Dunn County · Wisconsin

Capacity not statedSource updated 23 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Menomonie Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Undisclosed (Balloonist LLC)
Address and locality
Menomonie · Dunn County · Wisconsin
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
23 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000922

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Xcel EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
324 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
July 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Balloonist LLC confirmed working with Xcel Energy and the WI Public Service Commission on supply/grid; no MW load or substation figure disclosed.

Water. Proposed closed-loop cooling requiring ~75,000 gallons/day of municipal water/wastewater - would rank as Menomonie's fifth-largest water user.

Community. Active opposition group 'Stop the Menomonie Data Center'; Mayor Knaack (Sept 2025) called it 'not a suitable fit'; the city administrator signed an NDA limiting transparency; residents built a national toolkit for similar proposals; the new mayor is continuing the I-4 ordinance process.

What the source record says

End operator undisclosed behind Balloonist LLC (a Delaware foreign LLC). Multiple outlets note Balloonist's Delaware address and registered agent match prior Meta data-center SPV patterns, but NO source names Meta or any operator - recorded as undisclosed. A council member said the end user is 'one of the top tech giants' without naming them. Status corrected from the ledger's 'permitted' to 'proposed': the original I-1 rezoning was superseded by a January 2026 I-4 ordinance; no building permits were ever issued. Proposed investment up to $1.6B and 50-75 FTE jobs are developer projections (not recorded as firm fields). No MW capacity disclosed. Site: ~324 acres along County Highway B (annexed from Town of Red Cedar Aug 2025). Coordinates are the Menomonie centroid. aiClassification 'likely' rests on hyperscale scale + 'tech giant' attribution, not an explicit AI-workload statement.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-07 · source-reported proposed

    Balloonist LLC filed an annexation petition and I-1 rezoning for a ~324-acre site on County Highway B (Town of Red Cedar)

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-08-04 · source-reported proposed

    Menomonie City Council approved annexation and I-1 rezoning 8-3; rezoning is not a building permit

    Open cited source →

  3. 2025-09-22 · source-reported proposed

    Mayor Knaack declared the project 'on pause'; TID/development-agreement talks ended; Balloonist subsequently purchased the land

    Open cited source →

  4. 2026-01-06 · source-reported proposed

    City Council adopted a new I-4 Data Center Industrial District ordinance with stricter parameters, effectively requiring Balloonist to reapply

    Open cited source →

  5. 2026-06-30 · source-reported proposed

    Mayor Crowe: city still refining the I-4 ordinance, draft to be introduced Aug 3 2026; Balloonist retains the land

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID menomonie-data-center-wi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000922

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Menomonie, WI · Dunn (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Undisclosed (Balloonist LLC)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: July 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-07 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-08-04 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-09-22 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-01-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-06-30 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 324 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Xcel Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-23

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →