Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000905

Harrington Data Center Proposal (Maguire Hayden)

source-reported cancelled

Maguire Hayden

111 Reese Avenue · Harrington · Kent County · Delaware

Reported planned 24 MWSource updated 1 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Harrington Data Center Proposal (Maguire Hayden).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Maguire Hayden
Address and locality
111 Reese Avenue · Harrington · Kent County · Delaware
Official metro area
Dover, DE
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 24 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
1 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000905

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Land area
24.6 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Community. Council vote was unanimous against the project despite a proposed $1M community-benefits package; press described the rejection as met with 'cheers and a standing ovation' from residents in attendance.

What the source record says

No street address given beyond 'the site of a former cold storage warehouse' in Harrington, DE; location pin is Harrington's OSM place centroid (approximate). Article was published 2026-08-19 and refers to a council vote 'Monday' with no explicit calendar date, so statusHistory entries are dated to month-precision (2026-08) only. A separate, still-unidentified 100 MW project appears in Delmarva Power's internal 'Kent County' project list per a 2026-09 Technical.ly FOIA report; that report states press coverage could not confirm whether it is the same project as this one. Treated here as a distinct, unconfirmed lead and NOT merged into this record given the capacity mismatch (24 MW here vs. 100 MW in Delmarva's list) — flagged in the wave summary rather than fabricated into its own record for lack of any name or location.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-08 · source-reported proposed

    Maguire Hayden proposed a 24 MW data center at the site of a former cold-storage warehouse in Harrington, DE, with a community-benefits package described as 'contributions totaling $1 million.'

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-08 · source-reported cancelled

    Harrington City Council voted unanimously to reject the zoning change needed for the project; per Spotlight Delaware the vote 'prompted cheers and a standing ovation' from residents opposed to the project.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID maguire-hayden-harrington-de. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000905

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 111 Reese Avenue, Harrington, DE · Kent (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Maguire Hayden

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-08 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-08 · source-reported cancelled

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 24.6 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 24 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-01

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →