This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Loring LiquidCool Data Center (Green 4 Maine Campus).
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- LiquidCool Solutions / Green 4 Maine
- Address and locality
- Limestone · Aroostook County · Maine
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 26 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000869
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Versant Power
- Power source
- Hydro
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- October 2025
Provider notes
Energy. Power from Canadian hydro via Versant Power (Aroostook County utility). 24MW will-serve agreement confirmed; 40MW immediately available at base; potential to scale to several hundred MW. Fiber connected to Three-Ring Binder statewide network (MAE-East internet exchange).
Water. LiquidCool immersion cooling uses polyalphaolefin oil (non-conductive); no water consumed for cooling per developer claim.
Community. Maine LD 307, pending in the Legislature as of March 2026, would bar permits for facilities over 20MW until late 2027 — directly threatening this project's 24MW power agreement (developer says it 'can live with' the cap but it blocks the planned 50MW scale-up).
What the source record says
115,000 sq ft leased within Green 4 Maine's 450-acre innovation hub on former USAF base. LiquidCool Solutions is a Minnesota-based technology company. First phase starts at 5-6MW; 50MW total available at base. Project marketed as cross-border US/Canada AI hub.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-10 · source-reported proposed
LiquidCool Solutions and Green 4 Maine announce Maine's first AI-focused data center at Building No. 7230, former Loring AFB; operational target within 6 months of October 2025 announcement
- 2026-03 · source-reported proposed
Maine Legislature advances LD 307 data center moratorium (20MW+ facilities); Loring project above threshold with 24MW will-serve agreement. Governor Mills ultimately vetoed LD 307; veto sustained June 2026, clearing path for Loring project.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Maine's 1st AI Data Center Planned for Aroostook County · Bangor Daily News
- Maine's Proposed Data Center Ban Could Restrict Facility Planned at Loring · Bangor Daily News
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID liquidcool-loring-afb-me. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000869
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Limestone, ME · Aroostook (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: LiquidCool Solutions / Green 4 Maine
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: October 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-10 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-03 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Versant Power
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Hydro
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-26
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.