This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Imperial Valley Computer Manufacturing AI Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Imperial Valley Computer Manufacturing (IVCM)
- Address and locality
- Imperial · Imperial County · California
- Official metro area
- El Centro, CA
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 330 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 29 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000835
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Imperial Irrigation District (IID)
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Evaporative
- Land area
- 75 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced jobs
- 100 permanent · 1,700 construction
- Community response
- Provider label: litigation
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
Provider notes
Energy. Would consume approximately twice Imperial County's entire 2024 electricity use. IID rejected water service application for reclaimed water cooling; IVCM filed suit seeking 260 million gallons of Colorado River water annually.
Water. Developer requested 750,000 gallons/day of reclaimed water from IID (out of a proposed 6 million gallon daily allocation). IID rejected water service application. IVCM subsequently sued for approximately 260 million gallons per year of Colorado River water.
Community. 3,400+ residents signed petition opposing project. Site is adjacent to two residential neighborhoods with hundreds of homes and within 1 mile of schools and playgrounds. City of Imperial filed 231-page court complaint citing noise, hazardous emissions, fire, explosion, and toxin risks. Residents organizing 'Imperial County Data Center Prohibition Act' for November 2026 ballot. Calipatria city council voted to draft a 5-year moratorium. Recall petition filed against County Chairwoman Peggy Price. Developer filed federal civil rights lawsuit against City of Imperial.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Reported water use: The source note says the 750,000 gallons-per-day reclaimed-water request was rejected by the water district, so it is not an established water use.
- Announced investment: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
Coordinates approximate; actual site is near Aten Road and Clark Road just outside Imperial city limits. Developer Sebastian Rucci (Imperial Valley Computer Manufacturing) proposes ~950,000 sq ft facility described by developer as 'designed exclusively for advanced artificial intelligence and machine learning operations.' Imperial County Board of Supervisors was deliberating an emergency moratorium on new data center approvals as of June 4, 2026 — adoption not confirmed by cited source. Annual promised tax revenue: ~$28M.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-04 · source-reported proposed
Imperial County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 to vacate a public right-of-way and approve a lot merger across 75 acres related to the project site; Chairperson Price subsequently clarified the vote 'did not approve, authorize, or commit to any future development'
- 2026-06 · source-reported proposed
Imperial County Board of Supervisors began deliberating an emergency moratorium on new data center approvals; adoption not confirmed as of cited June 4, 2026 source. IVCM entangled in numerous lawsuits including federal civil rights suit against City of Imperial; proceedings regarding IID Colorado River water rights ongoing.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- California's Largest Data Center Plan Rouses Imperial County · inewsource
- Data Center Moratorium? Imperial County Considers It · inewsource
- AI Data Center Plan Energizes Opposition in California Desert · inewsource
- California community panics as $15 billion in data centers planned (2026-02-05) · SFGATE
- Where Imperial Data Center Project — and Opposition — Stands · Calexico Chronicle
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID ivcm-imperial-county-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000835
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Imperial, CA (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Imperial Valley Computer Manufacturing (IVCM)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-06 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 75 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 330 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Imperial Irrigation District (IID)
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Evaporative
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 1,700 construction
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: litigation
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-29
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.