This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for IRS Enterprise Computing Center (Martinsburg Computing Center).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Internal Revenue Service
- Address and locality
- 250 Murall Drive · Kearneysville · Berkeley County · West Virginia · 25430
- Official metro area
- Hagerstown-Martinsburg, MD-WV
- Source-reported status
- operational
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 15 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000831
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- AI-use label (provider)
- mixed use
What the source record says
Long-running federal data center, referred to interchangeably as the Martinsburg Computing Center and the Kearneysville Enterprise Computing Center; the IRS exhibit gives the main building as 379,200 GSF occupied 1999, plus 165,000 GSF of annex space. AI classification is "mixed_use", not "confirmed": the facility's primary workload is tax processing and it houses the IRS Master File, but a February 2025 procurement covers an NVIDIA DGX B200 SuperPOD of 31 systems for the Research, Applied Analytics and Statistics division's Compliance Data Warehouse. The Intercept noted at the time that the hardware "has not yet been purchased or installed," so installation is not asserted here. DOE awarded a $2.2 million AFFECT grant toward an energy savings performance contract at the site. Coordinates are the OSM point for the IRS building, not a parcel survey. No capacity, cooling or water figures are published, so those fields are omitted.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 1999-01-01 · source-reported operational
Main building at 250 Murall Drive occupied in 1999 (annex facilities 1995/1997), per the IRS's own site information exhibit.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- IRS procurement technical exhibit — Martinsburg Computing Center: "Main Building: 250 Murall Drive, Kearneysville, WV Occupied 1999 379,200 GSF" · Internal Revenue Service
- CX-032001: Internal Revenue Service Martinsburg Enterprise Computing Center ESPC (DOE AFFECT grant, NEPA categorical exclusion) · U.S. Department of Energy
- IRS purchases Nvidia DGX B200 SuperPOD — 31 DGX B200 systems for the Martinsburg Enterprise Computing Center · SDxCentral
- The IRS Is Buying an AI Supercomputer From Nvidia · The Intercept
- OpenStreetMap Nominatim geocode — Internal Revenue Service, 250 Murall Drive, Berkeley County, WV 25430 · OpenStreetMap
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID irs-enterprise-computing-center-kearneysville-wv. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000831
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): mixed use
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- 250 Murall Drive, Kearneysville, WV 25430 · Berkeley (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Internal Revenue Service
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported operational
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 1999-01-01 · source-reported operational
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-15
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.