Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000799

Hut 8 Batavia Data Center

source-reported under construction

Batavia DC Corp (Hut 8 Corp subsidiary)

Batavia · Kane County · Illinois

Reported planned 50 MWSource updated 3 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Hut 8 Batavia Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Batavia DC Corp (Hut 8 Corp subsidiary)
Address and locality
Batavia · Kane County · Illinois
Official metro area
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
3 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000799

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
ComEdUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
7.2 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$500 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Energy. Requires ~$18M off-site electrical improvements (developer-funded, city-reimbursed over 7 years via utility revenue) and a fourth substation transformer plus added ComEd capacity to reach full 50 MW. City projects ~$2.3M/yr utility revenue + $375K/yr franchise fees at 20 MW, rising to ~$5.7M/$800K at 50 MW.

Water. Amended agreement caps facility water draw/discharge at 1,000 gallons/day (city-metered); closed-loop cooling system needs an initial ~450,000-gallon ionized-water charge, replaced roughly every 5.5 years.

Community. Council approved 12-1 (one dissent, one absent) amid resident concern the facility would 'gobble up' local energy reserves. The agreement contains an explicit contractual ban on 'blockchain-related activities, including bitcoin (digital money) mining' at this site.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-07-21 · source-reported under construction

    Batavia City Council approved the Master Services Agreement with Batavia DC Corp (Hut 8 subsidiary) 12-1 on July 21, 2025; a follow-up amended agreement (water terms) was approved September 2025. Initial 20 MW operation targeted winter 2026; full 50 MW buildout phased through ~2031.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID hut8-batavia-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000799

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Batavia, IL · Kane (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Batavia DC Corp (Hut 8 Corp subsidiary)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2025-07-21 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 7.2 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: ComEd

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $500 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-03

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →