Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000563

Empire AI Beta

source-reported operational

Empire AI consortium (hosted by the University at Buffalo, SUNY)

Buffalo · Erie County · New York

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Empire AI Beta.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Empire AI consortium (hosted by the University at Buffalo, SUNY)
Address and locality
Buffalo · Erie County · New York
Official metro area
Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000563

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Announced investment
$40 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
June 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Empire AI state capital funding (Beta-phase NVIDIA supercomputing equipment) · New York State · 2025 · $40 million (as stated) Open cited source →

What the source record says

New York State-funded public AI supercomputer, the second phase (Beta) of the Empire AI consortium. UB states it is "housed at the Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences on the medical campus"; coordinates are geocoded to that building on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus, hence approximate. Described as "a $40 million NVIDIA-powered supercomputer" delivering "an 11-fold increase in AI training capacity, a 40-fold boost in AI inference and an 8-fold expansion in data storage" versus Alpha. Confirmed absences (2026-09-09): none of the three fetched sources states a GPU count, an IT load or any MW figure, a water/cooling detail, an acreage, or a job count for Beta. Empire AI overall is backed by "over $500 million in public and private funding"; that is consortium-wide, not this site, so it is not recorded as investmentUsd. The Alpha phase (launched 2024, Simons Foundation gift) is also housed at UB and is the predecessor system on the same campus, not a separate site. The permanent Gamma facility is tracked separately as empire-ai-gamma-buffalo-ny. This $340M is the consortium-wide state capital commitment (total backing over $500M incl. private/philanthropic funds), covering Empire AI statewide -- not specific to the UB Beta phase. Reported separately from the $40M Beta-specific figure above. Flag for hand review re: attribution to this specific facility record vs. the consortium generally. SUBSIDY SCOPE NOTE (maintainer adjudication 2026-09-10): a $340m consortium-wide state capital commitment (total backing over $500m including private and philanthropic funds) covers Empire AI STATEWIDE and is not attributable to this phase or site. It is deliberately NOT recorded as a site-level `subsidies` entry, because the same figure would otherwise be counted against both the Beta and Gamma records. The phase-specific $40m Beta award IS recorded.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-08 · source-reported operational

    Governor Hochul announced Empire AI Beta fully online.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID empire-ai-beta-buffalo-ny. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000563

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Buffalo, NY · Erie (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Empire AI consortium (hosted by the University at Buffalo, SUNY)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: June 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-08 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $40 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Empire AI state capital funding (Beta-phase NVIDIA supercomputing equipment) · New York State · 2025 · $40 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →