Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000340

Gainesville Crossing Digital Campus (GCDC)

source-reported under construction

Corscale Data Centers (Patrinely / USAA Real Estate)

Gainesville · Prince William County · Virginia

Reported planned 300 MWSource updated 26 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Gainesville Crossing Digital Campus (GCDC).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Corscale Data Centers (Patrinely / USAA Real Estate)
Address and locality
Gainesville · Prince William County · Virginia
Official metro area
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
26 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000340

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Dominion EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
AirProvider label.
Land area
130 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Energy. Powered via a dedicated on-site Dominion Energy 135 kV substation (~306 MW); the design targets a PUE of 1.25. No confirmed renewable PPA or on-site generation.

Water. Air-cooled chillers (Airedale by Modine) with liquid-cooled options available; LEED / water-use-efficiency targets. No confirmed operational daily-use figure published.

Community. The Prince William County BOS approved the Gainesville Crossing rezoning (REZ2018-00008) 7-1 on Dec 10 2019 over opposition from the Coalition to Protect Prince William County (Elena Schlossberg: 'Citizens are carrying the burden of the massive infrastructure bills for these energy hogs'). Distinct from the separately-contested PW Digital Gateway / Pageland Lane project (voided by courts in 2025); GCDC's own approval is not under legal challenge.

What the source record says

~130-acre campus on Interstate 66; ~306 MW via an on-site Dominion substation. Distinct from the separately-tracked QTS/Compass 'PW Digital Gateway' site (~2,100 acres at Pageland Lane) — which QTS terminated in July 2026. Capacity recorded at 300 MW per the DCD primary source (a 326 MW figure also circulates). Coordinates are the Gainesville area centroid. The only confirmed money figure is the ~$74.5M 2020 land purchase (a real-estate transaction, not construction capex) -> investmentUsd omitted; no headcount is disclosed; the VA sales-and-use tax exemption is eligibility-gated with no public award.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2022 · source-reported under construction

    Gainesville Crossing Data Campus underway on I-66 in Prince William County; ~130 acres, Phase 1 online 2022

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID corscale-gainesville-crossing-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000340

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Gainesville, VA · Prince William (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Corscale Data Centers (Patrinely / USAA Real Estate)

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2022 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 130 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Dominion Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-26

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →