This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Cassville Data Center Campus (Undisclosed Developer).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Undisclosed (major tech company, NDA not signed)
- Address and locality
- Cassville · Grant County · Wisconsin
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 4 August 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000216
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Alliant Energy
- Power source
- Grid
- Land area
- 500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1 billion
- Announced jobs
- 50 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- December 2024
Provider notes
Community. Residents voted 44-0 (April 16, 2026) to ban data centers in the township. 'No Data Centers in the Driftless' Facebook group reached 2,700 members. Community cited loss of farmland and rural character in Wisconsin's Driftless Area.
What the source record says
Coordinates are Cassville city centroid; proposed site was ~400-500 acres in the town of Cassville. Grant County ED director confirmed company 'people will recognize' but declined to name it. Energy requirement estimated at 400-500 MW (per Wisconsin Watch, citing economic development director estimate). Investment range $1B-$2B; investmentUsd represents the floor. Town vote was April 16, 2026: 44-0 to ban data centers (ordinance lasts up to two years). Developer went silent post-vote and was reportedly considering Indiana and North Dakota sites.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2024-12 · source-reported proposed
Grant County Economic Development Corp. disclosed proposal for $1B-$2B campus; developer identity withheld; proximity to Cardinal-Hickory Creek transmission line cited as appeal
- 2026-04 · source-reported cancelled
Town of Cassville voters approved 44-0 an ordinance banning data centers in the township on April 16, 2026; developer went silent after the vote and was reported considering sites in Indiana and North Dakota
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Another $1 billion Wisconsin data center eyed in Grant County town of Cassville · Wisconsin Watch
- Another billion-dollar Wisconsin data center is eyed for Cassville in Grant County · PBS Wisconsin
- In rural Wisconsin, a town rejects a plan to build a massive data center · Wisconsin Watch
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- A $2 billion proposal, then silence: How a Driftless Area data center deal fell apart · Wisconsin Watch
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID cassville-grant-county-wi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000216
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Cassville, WI · Grant (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Undisclosed (major tech company, NDA not signed)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: December 2024
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2024-12 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 500 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Alliant Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 50 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-08-04
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.