This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Brennan Barrington Hills Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Brennan Investment Group
- Address and locality
- Barrington Hills · Illinois
- Official metro area
- Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN
- Source-reported status
- cancelled
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 12 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000207
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Announced investment
- $2 billion
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
Provider notes
Community. A Change.org petition gathered 1,303 signatures citing air pollution, water quality and tax concerns; the village said the matter was closed with no further discussion anticipated.
What the source record says
Proposed on land south of Penny Road and west of Pond Gate Drive in Barrington Hills. Acreage, building count and power capacity were never disclosed. The $2 billion figure is the investment stated for this site, not a company-wide total. Coordinates are the mapped Penny Road corridor and are approximate; the county is omitted because Barrington Hills spans four counties and the source does not identify which one contains the parcel.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-09-12 · source-reported cancelled
Brennan Investment Group withdrew the proposal on 28 January 2026, cancelling a 2 February plan commission presentation 'based on initial feedback'.
Sources and attribution
- $2 billion data center proposal in Barrington Hills withdrawn · Shaw Local / Northwest Herald
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID brennan-barrington-hills-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000207
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Barrington Hills, IL (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Brennan Investment Group
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-09-12 · source-reported cancelled
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $2 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-12
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.