This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Dickerson Data Center.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Atmosphere Data Centers
- Address and locality
- Dickerson · Montgomery County · Maryland
- Official metro area
- Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 360 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 21 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000106
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Not established
- Reported water use
- 2 million gallons per day (source-reported)
- Community response
- Provider label: opposed
Provider notes
Energy. Reuses the retired Dickerson coal plant's existing transmission lines and substation infrastructure; the application also includes a utility-scale battery storage facility on the site.
Water. River-water cooling proposed; a permit application seeks up to two million gallons per day from the Potomac on peak days. The Potomac was named America's most endangered river of 2026 by opponents of the project.
Community. Sustained opposition from Montgomery County community and environmental groups. The County Executive issued a six-month permit pause on June 12, 2026, the County Council enacted an 18-month moratorium on July 28, 2026, and the developer challenged the moratorium in court.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
Five-building campus proposed by California-based Atmosphere Data Centers on the site of the decommissioned Dickerson coal power plant on the Potomac River. Single-source record: the developer's own filings were not independently retrieved. Re-checked 2026-09-10: status confirmed PROPOSED, no change -- existing record already fully captures the June 2026 six-month permit pause and July 28, 2026 18-month Council moratorium. New detail found this run: Atmosphere withdrew its legal appeal of Elrich's now-moot six-month executive-order moratorium after the Council's 18-month moratorium superseded it, and a separate county ordinance indefinitely prohibiting data centers was set to take effect 2026-08-17. This is regulatory-posture detail, not a status-enum change.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-05 · source-reported proposed
Five-building, 360 MW plan re-filed with Montgomery County in May 2026 (an earlier two-building proposal was approved in 2024). County public hearing scheduled for Nov. 12-13, 2026.
Sources and attribution
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID atmosphere-dickerson-montgomery-md. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000106
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Dickerson, MD · Montgomery (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Atmosphere Data Centers
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-05 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 360 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
The provider reports water information but no cooling type.
- Reported water use: 2 million gallons per day (source-reported)
Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: opposed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-21
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.